Families logo

The Excuse

Children have the power to reach inside our hearts and empower change.

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

17-year-old Jennifer Blake asks her Mother, “Was you excited when you found out that you were going to have me?”

“Well,” her mother pauses, nodding her head left to right then said, “I kinda lost a bet.”

“You did what!” Jennifer screams. “You lost a bet? That’s what I am to you, a bet you lost?”

“I am sorry, I was young and unprepared.”

Jennifer fumes, then release, “I am an only child, so I guess you won all the other bets?”

“I said I was sorry.”

“Who won the bet that bought me here?”

“Your father,” her mother informs.

“Let me get this straight. You lost the bet, but you end up with a prize you didn’t want?” Jennifer screams in disappointment.

“I stayed, he didn’t,” her mother said.

Her relationship with her mother crashed that day.

To get away from the disappointment and pain, she got her scholarship and chose an out of State College, moving into their dormitory. She hasn’t seen or spoken to her mother in fifteen years. Mother’s Day was painful for her. She finished college, got her Master’s in Education, and accepted a teaching position at Middlehood Elementary School. Every Mother’s Day she would send her mother a card with a check that was never cashed, and no return address.

Nine-year-old Molly Stewart was a bright and well-mannered child, who often come to school looking as if she was run over by a garbage truck. Sometimes smelling just as bad. The children would tease her, and she would often cry or sit at the back of the class in the corner. Jennifer would become her protector.

Jennifer called in her mother and learned she was a single mother struggling to feed her only child. Jennifer made sure Molly came to school looking as a child should, after that. When Molly needed a coat, Jennifer started a coat drive. Collecting coats and new clothes for other children in the school and the surrounding community. Molly needs school supplies; Jennifer reaches out to the businesses in the community and they donated lots of school supplies. Molly was a happy child now.

Two days before Mother’s Day, Jennifer was passing the girl’s bathroom and heard a familiar voice said, “You can’t put that in the card.”

“What can’t she put in a card?”

That’s Sara’s voice, Jennifer thought stopping to listen.

“She is making a Mother’s Day card for Miss Blake and she wants to put in it that ‘I am glad you were born.’ You can’t put that in a card.” Paula’s voice, Jennifer identified.

“But I am glad,” Molly defends her decision.

“Miss Blake is nice to all of us,” Sara said. “I am glad she was born too. If her mother didn’t give birth to her, she wouldn’t be here to help us. And I am glad her mother was born too. I got a new coat, shoes, clothes, and school supplies thanks to her.”

Jennifer couldn’t stop the tears as the words her mother told her fifteen years ago, hit her. She hurries inside the teacher’s bathroom and cry long-overdue tears. A few moments before the dismissal bell rang the children gave her their cards. Lots of thanks and hugs later she sat in her car, sadness hugging her as she read Molly’s card.

It said, “Dear Miss Blake, I may not be your daughter, but I think of you as my mother. You gave me and other children the kind of love a mother gives her children. I am glad you were born. Love Molly.” Happy Mother’s Day Mom.”

Jennifer arrived at her destination four and a half hours later. The sun was slowly going down as she parked in front of her mother’s home. Mrs. Blake was sitting on her porch. Her eyes lit up when she saw her daughter heading towards her. She jumps up and met her halfway. As they embrace each other both in tears, Jennifer said, “Oh Mama I am glad you lost that bet.”

Minutes later they sat down in the kitchen sipping Turmeric ginger tea.

Mrs. Blake looks into her daughter’s eyes and said, “I was sixteen when I gave birth to you,” she pauses as if her overdue trip into the truth of her past was painful. “I lost a bet to your father and that’s how you were born. I may have lost the bet, but I won the prize.”

When we give our life a meaning and a purpose, life will add its own value to our lives.

They say ‘children say the darndest things.’ Their innocence and ability to love unconditionally gives them the power to heal adults in the simplest and most thoughtful ways. Children have the power to reach inside our hearts and empower change. Open your heart and let them in.

Thank you for reading this piece. I hoped you enjoyed it.

children
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.