Families logo

The Blind Boy

A true life story of my student

By Joy ObianinwaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Blind Boy
Photo by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

There is this guy in my class, he's a young little man, very sweet. One of the most intelligent kid I've ever seen in my life, but he is blind.

His name is Jacob Isare . He is twelve years of age from Delta Nigeria. I am his teacher. Although Jacob wasn't blind from birth. He was birthed normal with his sight functional. Until at the age of four, that's when the misfortune happened.

He said in one afternoon. He was watching television when a strange wind suddenly blew and it looks like a speck of dust fell in his eyes. He screamed after his mother, who came running after him. But at this point, he noticed he's not seeing anything at all. He rubbed his eyes over and over, The mother washed his face, I mean she practically did everything she could but no result. His sight is gone, just like that, it is very strange.

Since then, the poor woman has been taking him to hospitals and prayer houses but no solution. The doctor said it is cataract. But no improvement from the medical prescription. But shocking, this little boy has learnt to move on with his life. He is a very jovial person, fun to be with. I mean if you met him, you will love him. He's so full of life.

One more thing about him is that he has a good voice. He told me he wants to attend musical school, because he has passion for music and as well, he wants to learn how to play musical instrument. Although my son teaches him drum. He's our church drummer. But Jacob needs a musical set of his own. Did you know he told me that the Radio the mother bought was the best gift he ever had.

Every time he comes to school, he will narrate to me everything said on the radio, including the news, music, jingles etc. He knows a whole lot of things that doesn't fascinate people of his age. I remember during election last two years, he was the school newscaster. He will detail on every single information he heard concerning the election or the candidates. He can really tell story. He will go on and on and on. He can really store a lots of things in his memory.

In the school, I write his notes for him. His father reads them for him when he gets home. Jacob is so soft, at any small thing he cries. So, in the school, am always so protective of him. I hate to see him cry.

But he seriously needs a musical instrument of his own like keyboard, or drummer. Since he's a fast learner. I have no doubt he will do well in music. He has the potentials.

All I need from you is to help me buy him a musical set like keyboard and register him in a musical school. He's blind quite alright. But this instrument will be like a companion to him. Beside it will prepare him for tomorrow, because I know he will do well in music. He's got the voice. lets support him. If not for the support Steven Wonders got, nobody would've known his name. lets give this guy opportunity in life.

He may be handicapped but his future is not handicapped. Let's help Jacob secure his future. God will bless you as you send your gift.

For your gift, no matter how big or small it is, it will be appreciated. And don't forget that you are not only putting a smile on a poor boy 's face but as well equipping him for a better tomorrow.

I can't imagine how happy he will be to know people are responding to his needs. THANK YOU. Send your gift through paypal .

PayPal me : [email protected]

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.