Families logo

The Big Surprise

Turning 70

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read

Sometimes keeping a secret is the hardest thing to do.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m not saying my husband is nosy. He doesn’t pry into what I do or when I do it. He understands that there are things I do that just don’t concern him and he’s happy with that.

Actually, when it comes to him, I’m like a proverbial open book. That’s why when his 70th birthday was approaching, I had a dilemma on my hands. I wanted to have a party for him, but I also wanted it to be a surprise! Oh, my goodness! How was I going to pull this off?

First of all, we have many good friends and many more acquaintances. We belong to a club that enjoys more than one hundred members.

True, not all the members are our friends, close or otherwise but there are still many. Thinking of that amount, tossing in our family and the neighbors with whom we’ve become close, the guest list accrued to eighty-four.

I checked the list. Double-checked it again. I laughed at myself thinking, “is this what Santa goes through? Checking his list and checking it twice?”

I’d delete someone but then I’d add two. This went on and on for a few weeks. Then I realized the best way to have the party I wanted was to rent the room at our local civic center. It would be perfect! I could call the supermarket, order food and have them deliver it. A DJ would round off the festivities. Sounded great – but then I thought: how can I do this without him suspecting anything?

I called the civic center and asked if the main hall was available for the date I wanted.

“Yes,” the manager answered. “It’s a good thing you called so early in advance. Valentine’s Day always books early.”

Yep, you guess it! His birthday is February 14th, and I called the civic center one year in advance. I paid the deposit to reserve the hall. The DJ was also available. I sent him a deposit. Everything else could wait. Almost.

I called our kids knowing that three out of the four might not be able to afford the flight to Florida. They all agreed that since the party was a year away, they’d make sure to set the airfare aside and fly down for the party. Money would be tight, but they’d make it a point to be here. I warned them not to tell their father. Then I went through my guest list again!

Months passed and I began buying the decorations. Naturally, I couldn’t store them in my own home, so my friend offered her garage as storage. That gave me another headache. How was I going to gather them from my friend’s house, get them to the civic center and decorate without giving away any hint as to what was about to happen?

Being as active in the civic association as I was at the time, the manager produced a solution.

“Ask one of his fishing buddies to take him fishing on Friday. You and your friends get here by two in the afternoon and do all your decorations. This way, everything will be completed and come Saturday, he won’t be exhausted from fishing. All you’d need to do is have a friend be here to let the caterer and DJ in."

Normally, this is something that is frowned upon but as I said, I’d volunteered so often, they all had known me for years. I guess it also helped that the manager and I are friends and she and her husband were invited.

The party was now two days away. My friend packed the decorations in boxes for easy transport. Another friend checked with the supermarket deli to be sure all the food was taken care of. She double-checked with the bakery. I remember one party I had attended, and the bakery lost the cake order. The hostess was mortified. That's why we double-checked everything. We were good to go!!

The only thing left was to decorate and then figure out how to get him to the civic center. So far, he didn’t appear to suspect a thing.

Our grown kids arrived and were staying with our neighbors. Maybe I should laughingly say, “hiding with our neighbors.” In any case, they were keeping out of sight.

Initially, I arranged for four of my friends to help me decorate but when I arrived at the civic center, I saw twelve friendly faces. “So, where do we begin? Any particular order?”

I replied, “Nope! Just grab a box and run with it.”

Two hours later the hall was finished and looked amazing! What might have taken us three or four hours, only took two, thanks to everyone eager to make this party a success.

Our friend Mike also had a suggestion. He had a plan and worked out the details with the association’s manager.

Our association has a “lending” program. Medical supplies (walkers, canes, etc.) and children’s items are always kept clean and ready should a member need something. The association “lends” out what we need and when we’re done, it gets returned. Mike borrowed a portable crib for a grandchild that wasn’t really visiting.

Ah! February 14th has finally arrived. Mike and his wife offered to take my husband and me out to celebrate his birthday. He couldn’t really refuse since Mike said he’d already made reservations.

On our way to “dinner,” Mike said, “Oh, Rich, I need a favor. I promised the manager I’d drop off the crib I borrowed. Can you help me in with it?”

Rich couldn’t refuse since Mike and his wife were “taking him out to dinner.”

Mike grabbed the frame of the crib and Rich grabbed the mattress. Mike’s wife and I held open the doors.

As Rich walked in, everyone yelled, “Surprise – Happy Birthday!”

Rich stood there stunned.

Rich and Mike put the crib items against the wall, and I took Rich’s hand and slowly pulled him into the center of the room. With pats on the back, hands being shaken, women planting kisses on his cheeks, I know I saw tears of joy and wonder in his eyes.

Then our children came out of the association’s kitchen. Everyone quieted and they said in unison, “Happy Birthday, Dad.”

The tears that didn’t flow before, found their ways down his cheeks.

Everyone cheered while the DJ played, “For He’s a Jolly Good Fellow” and the fun began.

I pulled off the perfect surprise! I’m still in awe that the secret of the year was kept that way until there was no longer a need.

We danced, ate, sang, talked, and enjoyed the night ... no, we enjoyed the rest of the month. It was that kind of surprise! My husband admitted that he had no idea what was going on which made my surprise more special.

Yes, it was a great surprise.

Absolutely, it was a great party!

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • RD Brennan2 years ago

    WOW.... and he never caught on! That's incredible. I'm so nosy, I doubt my wife could pull anything over on me ... but then, who knows for sure.

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.