Families logo

Thanks-Giving

As a matter of principle, I want to take time to do what is really important today. I've already made it to all the family gatherings "on time" and with food in hand. I've gotten most of the dishes done, laundry started back up, all the kids in the bed, and my husband is expectantly watching the Predators game. So, I thought I would take a moment to take a deep breath and reflect. What am I thankful for?

By Sid MarkPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

As a matter of principle, I want to take time to do what is really important today. I've already made it to all the family gatherings "on time" and with food in hand. I've gotten most of the dishes done, laundry started back up, all the kids in the bed, and my husband is expectantly watching the Predators game. So, I thought I would take a moment to take a deep breath and reflect. What am I thankful for?

1. The love of the Savior, His Kindness, Compassion, and Forgiveness

2. The relationship that I have because God pursues me and draws me near

3. The splendor of being alive....the awe in beauty

4. My precious, hillarious, silly, all-boy and all-man husband, my best friend, my co-heir in the Kingdom---Aaron

5. My kids--Emma, Hannah, Will and all the beautiful attributes in each of them; Emma's wisdom, Hannah's zeal, and Will's innocent but wild heart.

6. My parents--both believers who have willingly pursued my best interest all the days of their lives

7. My brother and his family--they add interest and depth to the definition of "me"

8. All of my friends who have consistently added livliness to my otherwise routine life! You get me out of my shell!

9. The freedom to pursue God's best, and not fear safety, security, or bodily harm

10. My memory, my health

11. Laughter, in the best and worse times......I laughed at my grandma's funeral b/c my uncle had them play "You are My Sunshine" (she used to sing it to him as a baby); but it was the O Brother Where Art Thou version!! All I could see was the Old Southern gentleman in the white suit singing to my Grandma!!

12. Babies....new life.....springtime, flowers, growth, bright colors

13. Smells.....textures.....all the things that remind us daily we are alive

14. Family both far and near......Aaron's family has accepted me as their own.

15. Pen pals. I've had one most of my life. She's a dear friend. Now that we're older, we don't share as much. But I still get a birthday card every year. Eventhough a few years, I just forgot to send her one.

16. Cookies....although currently, I'm not eating them! Not currently, means not this very moment.

17. The comforts we have. The electricity, warmth, food, clothing, shelter, etc.

18. Avenues of knowledge--both in the ability to obtain knowledge and to share the little bits I may have hidden.

19. Wisdom--and those who have it and aren't keenly aware!

20. God's perfect Word and how it attends to my every single need......every single time I invest in it.

21. Pictures.....although one day, I'm sure I'll weep over most of them.

22. Grace. God's kind and the kind we extend to one another. It's the most impressive thing we can do.

23. A sense of belonging. God brought that about in me. I felt alone for many, many years. Now I feel as though everyone I meet.....has some 'relation' that is being made.

24. Service workers.....without you.....our world doesn't turn in the right direction. Who wants to go to a nice restaurant and cook their own food? You are the reason we're there!

25. Home. And all the people both past and present that make up Home. I miss holidays with Grandparents. But am oh so very thankful that every single one of mine knew the Lord Jesus before taking their last breath. We will be together again. Until then......I carry on.

These are just a few thoughts I had tonight. I better go check on the family! Everyone's really quiet.

Ephesians 1:16

"I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers."

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Sid Mark

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.