Families logo

Thankful for covid-19

Hear me out first!

By Jennifer SparksPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Covid-19 has been hard for so many people. All I can say is sometimes god has a bigger plan in mind. Sometimes if you look hard enough when everything seems to be falling apart, what you are left with , is exactly what you have been needing or forgetting in life. Last year at this time all I could think about was what am I gonna do to keep a roof over my kids head. I could not breathe, my stomach was in knots, and for the first time I felt every mistake I have ever made all at once. Then my uncle got super sick while I was living under his roof. He almost died. He was literally the only thing keeping me from the streets. Everything seemed to be getting worse by the second. I had no idea what to do. my mom, surely would have went to a nursing home. without my uncle here she couldn't make it herself. All I could do is pray and try to figure out what to do. Luckily my uncle was able to come home. I did everything I could, while I could. I knew it was only a matter of time before I was asked to leave the apartment. I mean I didn't expect to stay here in the first place. I made an appointment to find public housing. On that same day covid 19 was just breaking news and by the end of the week stay at home orders came. Now I couldn't leave even if I wanted to. So while I waited to see what was going to come i found myself being able to give back to my mom and uncle. We told old stories. Played card games. I showed them all the wonders of technology a.k.a. how to use the phone they already had. Ordered prescriptions, made them at least try to manage it for themselves. Cleaned my butt off. Shoped for them and all that jazz. Heck I even lost 20 pounds. I began to finally see that sometimes life may not be perfect. I rarely is. But for me covid let me spend a little more time with those I love. Not only that, but I appreciated every minute. Who knows what tomorrow brings. Sure being piled in a one bedroom with 7 people is not ideal. But it sure beats not being able to see my mom because of covid. Sometimes you are exactly where you should be.

how to
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Sparks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.