Families logo

Thank you! Big Sister Hannah!

Helping hands to come out to this world safely

By Thomas PakPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Thank you, Big Sister Hannah!

Was it yesterday? During dinner, my seven-year-old niece, Jessica cast a question to me. At first, I didn't understand what she was talking about. Because it was not a question to ask at that young age, it was a difficult question at that age to make a sentence that would make sense.

There were a few words that sounded rough. It was a question of a sentence in which words such as single, baby, and so on were mixed up. What is Jessica's question that can be inferred from these three words? About a month ago, the younger brother who lived together with me had his late son. My older sister has two daughters, and my younger brother also had two daughters down.

The original scheduled date was March 23rd, but on the 28th of February, in the afternoon when my mother and I were operating sewing machines in our alteration shop, a call came from my brother in a long distance at work. He said that his wife started labor and her forewaters has been leaking. Fortunately Hannah's mother in the neighborhood answered the phone and jumped in a hurry to help. I hurriedly stopped working and ran to my house, a 7-minute drive away.

When I entered my house, my sister-in-law was struggling in the bathroom on the second floor and Hannah's mother was supporting her. We barely stepped down the stairs and climbed into the car, and while I was driving to the hospital near my house, I turned on the emergency light and ran carefully. While on the way to the hospital, Hannah's mother, who has raised four children, expertly coached my sister-in-law to breathe well and finally arrived safely.

Soon my younger brother arrived at the hospital, and in less than a minute, the baby cried. Until then, the name of the baby was not yet confirmed, so a name John was roughly in their mind, but the name John was called as a male name of his big sister Jane and urgently changed to Daniel and submitted it to the hospital.

In this way, a son named Daniel came into our world. He came out of his mom’s belly almost a month early and was hospitalized for about a week until he finally discharged amniotic fluid out of his lungs and finally brought it home. From this time on, my younger brother and his wife are at the beginning of their troubles. But a pleasant trouble? Jessica watching from the side is so excited that she rolls around on the floor of the living room.

It's been a month since Daniel was born. Daniel cries hungry every hour or two. Poop diaper should be changed from time to time. For cleanliness, he needs bath neatly and dig his nose wax out. His second sister Jessica, who watched all the sincerity of her mother and father, asked a difficult question to understand at the dinner table.

Uncle, single, baby, hard ... .

When I interpreted Jessica's question with these four words, “Is this why my uncle didn’t marry yet to raise a baby so hard?” When I heard the question, I fell back in surprise. “I cannot deny it to be wrong.” I Replied. Jessica could not hide joy to watch her cute new born brother but she knew that there is a lot to do and care about.

Anyway, Daniel was able to come to the world safely because our neighbor's help and his family's hands were together. Hannah is the eldest daughter of our neighbor. She was only 10 years old, but when Hannah received a quick call from my sister-in-law, her mother was hesitant about what to do because she had no car. However, Hannah insisted to run to help her. So Hannah's mother started running 100 meters.

Hence, Daniel's lifesaver is Hannah. “Thank you, Big Sister Hannah!”

----

April 6, 2019

siblings
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.