Families logo

Sweet Wine Glaze

Drink and Eat Wine With Family

By Shelby Hagood Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The lights of the tree sparkle while I place a grapefruit and pine wax melt on the tray of the warmer. I flip the switch on, ready to smell the fresh scent of a real Christmas tree without needing one mixed with the fresh smell of citrus. I then turn on soothing orchestral Christmas music that flowed through house while the wax slowly melted down, releasing the scent while I take a deep breath and smile. I walk to the kitchen and pour myself a glass of red wine. The same wine that I will use to make the glaze for the ham I just brought in from the grocery store. The perfect pairing of salty and sweet goes great with all of the sides that I know the family will be preparing. Deviled eggs, potato salad, mac and cheese, green bean casserole, and cranberry desserts would be carting in later today as the perfect compliments for the tender ham.

I pick up a festive bowl with a happy snowman staring at me from the inside while I mix the wine with brown sugar, maple syrup, orange juice, and Dijon mustard. I set the bowl down and look over toward the dining room table, with the red candles already lit and flickering. I glaze the ham over with the sweet liquid and wrap it all in tin foil for the oven. As soon as the ham is in the oven, I head off to set the table. The festive plates are set, forks in place, and napkins all attended for. The holly in the middle of the table is a nice touch to bring everything together for the most delicious dinner. I pour water in everyone’s cups, and have wine glasses on the ready for when everyone in the family gets here to socialize and sip while waiting for the ham.

The first guest arrives and I pull the dirty apron off to stash it into a drawer. Underneath my Santa hat kitty apron is another kitty holding a string of lights saying “Meowy Christmas!” I open the door and smile at my aunt. “Cats are perfect for Halloween and Christmas aren’t they,” my aunt tells me while she hands me a plate of eggs that I take to set on the dining room table. I hand her a glass of wine and we sit at the couch catching up.

“I am really glad you came a little early. I am excited about the new recipe I came across for the ham,” I clinked glasses with her and we took a drink.

“That’s lovely! Where do you get your wine?” she asked me.

“In a subscription box,” I pointed to a box I had shoved in the corner that used to hold wines. I then stood up and starting breaking it down to be able to toss the cardboard in the fireplace.

“Oh, I guess they ship everything to doors now,” she laughed and took another sip.

“Yeah no need to go to the store anymore, I just wait happily for my next wine surprise!” I laughed. The fire roared and the doorbell rang again. I walked over to see my cousins standing there with mac and cheese in their hands. They walked in and set the container on the table themselves and scrambled for the wine.

“Is no one going to drink water?” I asked them all.

“Maybe some,” my aunt laughed while my cousins downed a whole glass and started pouring more.

“Good thing I really stocked up with my subscription,” I laughed at them while gesturing towards the wines stacked up in the racks above the kitchen counter.

“I smell something sweet in the kitchen,” one of my cousins remarked.

“That is the ham. I am trying a new wine glaze,” I informed them.

“Wine glaze with my wine, what a happy ending,” they laughed back. More family members then poured in the door, and my aunt let them in while I finally took the ham out of the oven and set it on the table with the rest of the sides. The sweet scent burst about, making my mouth water.

“Wow, I am ready to dig in,” one of my uncles raised his fork into the air.

“Here Dad, try some,” I walked over to the table and cut a slice down the ham to serve.

“Oh, looks good,” he stared hungrily at his plate.

“Go on and tell me about it,” I nodded for him to take a bite. He cut a piece and took a bite, chewing happily.

“That is definitely good ham. You probably won’t have any left by the end of the night. The wine glaze sweetness on the salty ham is the perfect pairing,” he commented.

“That’s what I hoped," I jumped excitedly. I pass out slices to the rest of the group and we all dug into the sides. It was a great Christmas where everyone had a full belly by the end of the night. One of the most magical moments of Christmas is the food. Good food leads to a good holiday for everyone. Finding the perfect recipe and compliments to the food for everyone to love is all a part of the joy of Christmas. It is a present in itself. Everyone always hands out gifts by the end of the night, but the perfect gift overall is the food that brings everyone together. Everyone's bellies were full as they ripped open packages, sang, and laughed into the evening. I scanned the room happily at the family memories in the making to long remember.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Shelby Hagood

Warner Bros and Disney 💕

Cat lover 🐱

Love fancy chocolate 🍫

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.