Families logo

Strength Of A Phoenix

My Big Sister

By Greer CollinsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Life experiences that made my Big Sister a Phoenix.

Dear Big Sis,

As you know for the past three months I have been entering challenges one after another on www. vocal. media, trying to improve my writing and make some much-needed money. Well, I came across a challenge that immediately made me think of you. When I read the words, "This challenge is dedicated to all the strong women in our lives...kept us inspired, and motivate us to rise." These words do not describe anyone in my life but you.

I titled this article, "Strength of A Phoenix" because I read the definition of a Phoenix, in regards to personality it is wise and has great strength. When it comes to what a Phoenix symbolizes, that would be a journey of adversity as it goes through transformation, renewal, and rebirth. It totally describes you, big Sister.

The fact that you have been tested with so many health issues such as having a brain tumor, struggling with lupus, surviving stomach cancer, having undergone six knee surgeries from reconstructive left to two scopes right, having pneumonia as well as bilateral pneumonia more than five times last year, also horrid fevers, and the Covid three times really blows my mind. The fact that you have not lost faith or questioned your Creator is truly amazing to me.

I know you have the most awesome and loving husband by your side. Two beautiful daughters, two energetic dogs, two adorable nephews whom you spoil and love dearly, not to mention a strong support group of loving family members and lifelong friends from who you draw strength. I understand that helps a great deal more than those who are not that fortunate. Still, it is your electric personality and unbelievably kind heart that draws such people to you.

You truly inspire me as well as everyone around you to be grateful for what we have and appreciate everyone in our lives.

To strive to be the best we can be and help others. Which reminds me of something else that you do despite all the things you are experiencing. Your passion for stopping human trafficking, and getting the awareness out to others so that they do not become victims. Using Hope's Door New Beginning Center for battered women, Poiema Foundation, plus The Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network (RAINN) which are human trafficking ministries. I love how no matter what difficulties you are facing you still find the strength to help others around you.

I love reading your posts on Facebook and just to let the judges who are reading this article know how wise and compassionate you are I am going to add a few of my favorites to this article.

"Sometimes in life, you have to do what you're most scared of doing. Step out of your comfort zone! Remember what you deserve and don't settle for anything less. When everything is falling apart, let your Creator be your glue. Sometimes the best response in life is no response, and as long as you're always true to yourself, you never have to explain or justify who you are to anybody. You only have one life so get noticed, do what you want, don't let anyone hurt you, have fun, be crazy, and live it to the fullest. Don't sit back wondering what you could've or should've done because we don't get a second chance!" My Big Sis

"Here's my advice. Hug everyone you love a lot tighter. Never leave someone in an argument. Be present. Say "I love you" way too much. Take a lot of pictures with the ones you love. You never know when it'll be the last time you see them, so please don't take any second you have for granted." My Big Sis

"Always be optimistic, hopeful, and positive that things are going to work out for you. No matter what's happening, you can decide right now with a shift of your mindset and a change of attitude that blessings will enter your life. Never lose hope. Never stop believing." My Big Sis

Thank you Big Sis for being my role model as to what a strong woman is made of. You are a bonified Phoenix, whom I love dearly.

A Facebook post of an inspirational message I can always find on my Big Sisters page.

siblings
1

About the Creator

Greer Collins

Newbie to writing, yet enjoying every minute of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.