Families logo

Soul Sister

A story about my one and only sister.

By I Was HerePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
"The girl under da moon...My Soul Sister"

This one goes out to my only sister. Not only is she my blood, she is my best friend. My ally. My teammate; (literally). My role model. She embodies the person that I confined in, I look up to, cherish, and value. Even when we act like ugly beasts around each other sometimes, we still find it in our hearts to forgive, smile, laugh, and forget. She is the elder, only by 10 months, born in the same year as yours truly. Secretly bringing joy to those who are closest to her and have the privileged to know the real her, she has a way of orchestrating the story being told. Naturally talented in the department of charisma and charm; she is a beauty to behold. Radiant and warm behind the curtain she draws - which protects herself from strangers who want to steal her glowing, trusting, heart - she will light up a room if she would just draw back her walls. My sister, is the one and only true friend I have ever friend. I say this because she is the only one who has truly stayed by my side through thick, thin and just plain, upside down, no gravity type fiasco's. Maybe it's because we had to put up with each other for 18+ years since we lived under the same roof, so we were forced to get over it. Though, this only made our bond stronger. And even now, when we are at a breaking point in our relationship, we still both have the decency to reach out to one another and tell each other how we feel in order to heal; because we are soul sisters, not just sisters. Sister, you are genuinely and authentically my one and only; soul sister.

You are incredible with words. You're able to not only communicate, but illustrate how you feel with l e t t e r s. Even though I am the artist, and you're the writer; even though I am the painter and you're the penman, you're able to mix all the colors with just a few words, all the while sketching and blotting, swirling and stroking, and splattering, filling in the holes and gaps of a persons mind, through the very poetry of your fingertips. I, however, try and grasp at words though memory (in which I have come across in books) to match the intensity of your pure thoughts. I am able to write and say how I feel through artwork. Through an image and the motion of putting paint on canvas, the use of color. That is where we differ sister. I feel as though I miss you, but I am not able to show you since I cannot convey my thoughts and emotions as clearly as you do through words. Soul sister, when I come home, and I can't wait to come home, I will express to you what you mean to me, because words cannot say it enough. Actions above all else are the only communication that anyone and everyone understands. I hope you'll understand.

I hope you find the courage to express yourself more, because you're a sight to behold. I hope you step out of your comfort zone, and are able to move forward. I hope you forgive me for leaving.

Sister, you have grown into a wonderful woman and human being. I am so grateful to know you. To exist alongside you. To witness your successes and failures, your wins and your losses, your happiness and your sadness. I will always be here for you.

I love you, my best friend, my ally, my confidante, my right hand woman, my teammate, my cheerleader and best and most of all my soul sister.

siblings
Like

About the Creator

I Was Here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.