Families logo

Sister Sister

a letter to my baby sister

By L. M. WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear Bigfoot,

Despite taking a lot of the credit for "raising you," you've made it. You've lived a quarter of a century, a beautiful 25 years, and I couldn't be more proud of you and I'm so happy I've been able to be there for all of it.

Since the beginning, you've been my partner in crime. It's been us against the world. You have been and always will be my best friend.

Just a fun day of window shopping, we'd always wanted one of these fancy hats

We've gotten each other into a lot of trouble (this is not an admission of guilt, but I am truly sorry about that time I sat on Nana's porch and kept sliding away from you which lead to the incident of you breaking your elbow--though if we're honest you were a total champ about it. If anything, you cared about the rules less once you realized that you couldn't do more damage to your already casted arm)

Nadiya at her preschool graduation after breaking her elbow

and we've gotten each other out of a lot of trouble too (like that time we spilled that glittery silver nail polish on mom's brand new carpet and team tagged using cleaning supplies and dabbing and whatever we could make work to get it out before mom got home.)

Living in two houses wasn't easy, but we made the best of it as we went back and forth between mom and dad's house, leaning on each other for emotional support. Thank you for all the times that you've let me read my writing to you before bed and being so invested in my characters (sorry, it will never been Team Aden). I've valued and appreciated your support more than I will ever be able to put into words or emotions or our supposed "twin telepathy" (despite the 2.5 years between us). If it weren't for your continual support and the constant "what happens next?" I'm not sure if I would have the love and passion for writing that I have today. Even when I felt uninspired to write, I would hear your not-so-little voice in my head begging for more pages. Begging for me to read more and more each night. You kept me going, even when you didn't know.

At Nadiya's graduation from the Culinary Institute of Michigan (CIM) 2019

Even though we were literally almost always together when outside of school, I really loved our late nights together when dad went to his euchre tournaments. These late nights were my absolute favorite time with you. Just the two of us, no nagging parents. No school in the morning. We would order in pizza for dinner and watch Hell Boy II on FX because it was one of the five movies they always played on rotation. In all honesty, this scene is the only reason why we religiously watched this movie.

I don't know if it is normal for sisters to have a song, but we aren't normal so that's ok and this is definitely our song no matter what the haters are gonna say.

I know things got hard for you when I went away to college. I should have called more, but I hope the long hours on the phone and the near five to six hour skype calls made up for it. Even though it felt like I was far away and even now since we live far apart, I will always want to build a snowman with you because you are my little Anna and I will do anything and everything to protect you and be there for you.

Taken during our annual family pumpkin day 2018

You've brought yourself so far, even without my help. You've become a phenomenal baker and I know your dream of becoming a famous pastry chef/cake decorator is in your future. The stars are the limit, not the sky. You strive for happiness and I envy that in you. I know you've become frustrated and discouraged since getting your carpal tunnel surgery a couple months ago, but it will heal in time. Your cakes are just as beautiful as they have always been. Your hand-piped buttercream flowers are gorgeous and so life like. Don't give up. You got this! (And just remember if and when you need a taste tester, I'm your girl. I'll even do it for free.)

One of Nadiya's competition cakes where she received a silver medal (2017)

I love you more than life itself kiddo and couldn't image it without you.

If you ever need me, remember "I'm only one call away. I'll be there to save the day. Superman's got nothing on me."

You are a beautiful swan because if you're a bird, I'm a bird.

Love you infinity,

Godzilla

siblings
1

About the Creator

L. M. Williams

I'm a self-published author that enjoys writing fantasy/supernatural/romance novels and occasionally dabble in poetry and realistic fiction. If not writing, I'm a freelance artist and a full time mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.