Families logo

Single Parent

The Love of a child

By Jessica HawkPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Two weeks after my daughter was born with the Dr who delivered her.

Have you ever thought about what else this world would throw us? For me, I would love for us to get a redo on this year, I love my solitary just as much as the next. What I don't like is being forced into solitary confinement in my own home due to this pandemic. Now, with having an only child in the house being forced into solitary makes things hard. There have been times when I want to send her to her aunt’s up in Washington for a month or two just so I can get things on my plate done. But then I think, I miss my little one and that I love her goofiness. How she likes to dance and shake her little booty in a weird funny way. So I keep her with me and multitask like no other. Starting the 12th she will be out for the summer. No more school for the summer, so more fun activities to do if things open up.

There are times that I think back to the day I held her for the first time. That was my proudest moment. I never really wanted to become a mom, it was hard enough having to take care of myself let alone a tiny human. There was a time I thought about putting her up for adoption due to me not being financially stable, living paycheck to paycheck, fighting with her father. But, I realized that i could not do that since i would always wonder if i could do a better job, did i give her up for selfish reasons? To be honest, I'm glad I decided not to give her up, yes, just like every parent, she gets on my nerves, but like earlier today she was making me laugh with how she was saying words and she was laughing and doing it to make me laugh. I love my child, she is the reason that i get up in the morning.

I'm hoping that the playgrounds at the parks get opened up this summer, even the swimming pools get opened up. The plan was to go camping this summer with the family but when the pandemic hit the governors shut the states down, yes it is slowly opening up. But not the camping or the playgrounds at the parks for the children who need to feel they can have fun and not feel like they don't have any normalcy right now. I plan during this pandemic to let her help me with putting together a garden, let her take her little scooter to the store so she can still have fun. I don't know what other single parents or couple parents do with their children, but I suggest to do like family movie nights, do forts in the living rooms, or if you have a backyard and a tent to go camping in the backyard to make it fun for the kids.

Here is a thought for you, “Being a single parent means sacrifice: time, money, sleep, privacy. And we give them all, willingly. Just to keep them safe and warm; to let them know they are loved. It is the most rewarding sacrifice i have ever made.”- Brianna, WTE Community Member. Now this quote was originally made for single moms, however, I believe that this quote goes for all parents out there no matter if you have a partner or your own. It goes for all the parents in the world.

This quote: “Bottom line: You will find that you ‘just somehow adjust’ and that things will be fine. I promise you'll find that you're capable of much more than you thought!” — slc2009, goes for what is happening in the world. So just remember you have your little one’s smile to get you through what is going on in the world today.

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.