Families logo

Sharks: Feel the fear and pay attention

Why giving in to your fear is sometimes okay

By Kirsty Lee HuttonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Sharks: Feel the fear and pay attention
Photo by Tim B Motivv on Unsplash

When it comes to adrenaline-seeking behaviour, I have about as much courage as the lion at the start of The Wizard of Oz. I’m okay with that; better to be safe than sorry.

Fear exists for a reason. Sometimes that sick feeling you get in your belly is not something to be overcome but something to be listened to. I saw Jaws at a pivotal stage of my childhood development, and as a result, refuse to go into the ocean deeper than my knees.

But when my sister asked me to join her and her two sons on a holiday to Queensland — well known for its beautiful beaches — I didn’t hesitate to say yes. After 232 days of being apart thanks to COVID-19, we were all thrilled to be able to spend some precious time together. Although they were still kids at eight and ten, my nephews Liam and Oscar had grown up so much in the time since I’d last seen them.

The boys know I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat. They know I can’t stand heights, rollercoasters or anything that moves too fast. They know I can’t swim very well and don’t really like the water. But they also know I adore them and would do anything for them, and while I have no problem with my fear stopping me from trying things, I would never let it interfere with them experiencing something.

And that takes us to the day at SeaWorld. As a special treat, my sister had organised a snorkelling adventure for the boys, with an option for me to join in at no extra cost. The snorkelling would take place in the big aquarium that houses all sorts of colourful fish and ocean life.

Initially, we thought any child ten or under needed to have their own adult with them, so I’d bravely agreed I’d go in. We were booked for 2pm so I’d spent the whole day at SeaWorld psyching myself up for the dreaded swim. Logically, I know they wouldn’t let us do it if it wasn’t safe, particularly because it was something they allowed eight-year-olds to do. But still, the list of all the things that could go wrong rolled through my mind.

When it came time to collect our wetsuits, they advised that only children under ten needed their own adult, meaning I didn’t actually have to participate and both boys would still both be allowed to swim with just my sister.

I asked my family if anyone minded me just watching from the sidelines and taking photos (as had been my duty all day), and they all agreed that was fine. Liam loves animals. Oscar loves swimming. The snorkelling adventure should have been a treat for both of them. Except for one thing, the 3m deep tank contained not only colourful fish but a shark the size of a surfboard.

Poor little Liam took one look at the beast swimming below him and began screaming. I mean, really screaming. From the edge of the tank, I could hear the terrified shrieks coming through the snorkel as well as repeated sobbing of, “I’m so scared”.

My heart broke for Liam. I knew he was reacting exactly the way I would have felt. Why on earth did they let a shark so big be in the same tank as a small boy? He tried to be brave. My sister helped him come back to the edge and he calmed a little, but each time he put his face under the water to see the shark the screams and tears started again. I can confirm that sharks do not react to such noise, or at least, the one in this tank didn’t.

Liam didn’t get eaten, despite my fear for him and his fear for himself. Watching a child’s natural reaction to being in an unnatural situation faced with an animal not usually in his space confirmed my trust in fear. I didn’t regret missing the swim, especially because that tank had an underwater glass viewing area, so you could see everything in the comfort of your own clothes without actually getting in the water.

Sometimes being brave isn’t doing the thing that scares you, but admitting that you’re okay missing out on the experience. I won’t have the chance to swim with sharks again, and even if I do, I’ll choose to sit it out.

(One final note; Liam remembers the adventure slightly differently, instead choosing to tell the story as a fun little swim. He leaves the shark bit out and focuses on the positives, which I truly admire.)

travel
1

About the Creator

Kirsty Lee Hutton

Founder of the marketing agency, Style Publishing

* Obsessed with marketing

* Children’s book author

* Journalist

* Personal Trainer

* Degrees in Law and Media

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.