Families logo

Scrapbooking

My bestie and I love these projects!

By C. M. SearsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Scrapbooking
Photo by Rirri on Unsplash

When the pandemic hit in 2020 all I could think was "what are we going to do with all this time"? Well, since we weren't really allowed to leave our houses for the first few months other than to shop or do bonzai runs to get essentials...like foraging for toilet paper, my bestie and I decided that it was finally time to start our scrapbook! It took us a couple months to get started but once we did oh boy, we went crazy with it! We started out picking the perfect album the title reads: LIFE...life is not measured by the breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away. We found that to be a perfect fit to our amazing 15 year journey thus far together.

Our BFF Scrapbook

Once we picked the book the pictures came next. That was a blast just looking back at our wonderfully crazy ride together! So many awesome memories to reminisce about, we laughed and cried, debated about some of the things that happened because we got drunk...ALOT..so our memories were a bit fuzzy at best on some of the pictures, but what a ride! Then we went and found all the stickers, that was also really fun just running around to all the craft stores screaming down the isle to each other and watching people give us crazy looks because we call each other "mama" so it sounds halarious to hear two grown ass women hollering "MAMA, COME LOOK AT THIS" or "MAMA, THESE ARE SO CUTE"! people often ask if she is my mother or if I am hers..lol..(she hates it) because we are only two years apart in age, and it's quite obvious she isn't my mother nor I hers, but they just assume because we call each other that everywhere we go. That actually started out in our local walmart as a joke, I accidentally called her mama, and she said it back in a country hick voice super loud just being funny, we laughed about it, and it stuck! from that day on we have called each other that, and we always will! We tell everyone that it's because we are both mothers, but really is was just a funny moment. Then we got the colored background paper, I already had pinking shears that my wonderful hubby had bought me two or three years before for christmas because I was going to make our scrapbook (and still intend to) some glue sticks and away we went!

I am Crystal, I am on the left, she is my BFF Sheri on the right.

Soon after getting everything ready the pages just flowed, one after the other! We picked a certain day of each week to get together so we could continue, and this became a very exciting project for us both and we could wait to continue it each week. the page above is the first page, and was written very thoughtfully together, and it will always stand true. We love each other unconditionally and that is how all BFF's should be. When we are together we can be exactly who we are with no judgement! We are bonded for life! Our spouses have come to realize this and have simply learned to live with it, if they want to live with us. We do have our boundries when it comes to our spouses, we each have to respect the other's spouse - even if we are not fond of them(her spouse is my adopted daughter, so no problems there, but my spouse and her are not fond of each other) and we have learned over the years that when we get together we can bitch it out to each other about them and walk away, no harm done. We understand that about each other and it helps our relationships as well, we are each others therapists in a way because we can make each other see what we don't about our spouses and try to understand them better, which makes for a much happier life. We like it...it works.

a random fun moment at the mall! We some crazy ladies!

We have thoroughly enjoyed our friendship, and we rarely ever fight. We are so intune to each other that we don't need to fight, plus we have learned that communication is the key to a great friendship. We have been through alot together and always stood stronger together, nomatter what, we have always been right there for each other whether it's an emergency or a good time, ride or die all the way. My bestie unfortunately suffers from bipolar depression which she does take meds for that keep her stable most of the time, but there was a time when she found herself on the verge of suicide and didn't know how to get help...I stepped up and took care of her and her two sons, got her through a back surgery that was caused by a car accident, which ended up causing a blood clot from her hip to her ankle throughout her right leg, she lived through being thrown from a horse which caused her head to be split open causing emergency surgery, and they didn't think she was going to live through that, but she did...in my eyes she is amazing to have gone through all of that in a 20 year period and still have 97 percent brain function. She does have some short term memory loss, like not remembering movies she has seen, but that is kinda cool, because she can watch them again like it was the first time. I am not capable of driving and talking, so she does all the driving when we are together...otherwise we would totally end up in Mexico(we live in San Diego) because I just drive and have no clue where we are going simply because I am to busy talking! I am the major talent of the two, I sing and she is my biggest fan! She has an amazing ability to reason with people, she is also an amazing organizer and helps keep me on task! She is full of life and loves living it to the fullest, so do I and when we get together it could be good...or we could get into alot of trouble, not the jail kind, but the "pissing our spouses off" kind. I am also proud to say that my bestie is now a proud member of the LGBTQIA+ family! After fighting who she was for 15 years, she finally decided to come out to her whole family and marry the true love of her life, for which I was honored with joining them in holy matrimony! Her family was amazing about accepting her choice and they were almost all present at the wedding, including her 7 grandkids( who are also call me grandma because I am an honorary family member) Sheri was my maid of honor at my wedding as well, and we are now one big mostly happy family, my husband is a bit of a kermudgin, but it's all good.

As besties we tend to forget time when we are with each other because as I mentioned before, we are very intune to each other, so we just do whatever suits us, time just flies by and that gets us in trouble sometimes. We really do try to respect our spouses, and we never mean to do anything to hurt anyone. We love our spouses...most of the time..just kidding, they mean the world to us, unless we are in our little bff world..then it seems like the rest of the world just fades away. I know all you besties reading this get that right?

l love my bestie! she is amazing!

We have truly come to know that we would literally die without each other! so we started this scrapbook in march of 2020 and finished it in may and we hope to pass it down to the boys so thier kids can see what true friendship looks like! We are now working on a "family" scrapbook and very excited to get the whole family involved! We will be letting each of the families make thier own pages in the book so that we can truly call it a "family" scrapbook. I love my life, and it would not be anywhere near as wonderful without her in it, and she feels the same. We know exactly how lucky we were to meet and become best friends, I am her Thelma and she is my Louise!

Best friends never to part, not sisters by blood, but sisters in heart!

extended family
1

About the Creator

C. M. Sears

I am learning more about writing every time I write a new story, whether it be fiction or fact. I love this platform and will continue to write and learn...if you like what you read in any of my stories please click the heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.