Families logo

Scares of Being a Parent

14 Month Old Boy with Staph Infection

By Destiny WooldridgePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everyone says having a staph infection is nothing to worry about. However, when your Fourteen-month-old baby boy has a staph infection you start to worry a little bit. When he stops eating and drinking and starts running a fever you start to stress. When half of his body turns sunburn red and the other half is pale white you start to get scared. When you have to help three other women hold down this helpless little boy to draw blood, you start to feel like the worst parent in the world. The worst part of this process is waiting overnight for the test results.

My little man has been on antibiotics for four days now and he has only gotten worse. I took him back into the doctor this morning and they told me they don’t think this is a reaction to the antibiotic. They said my baby boy has a more difficult form of a staph infection. I started to worry about this. They later told me they believe he has a second infection from the staph infection and they need to run some tests on his blood. This is where I get scared. This means they believe the staph infection is also in his bloodstream which is dangerous, deadly dangerous.

So, on top of being terrified for my little boy’s life, I have to watch him be tortured and help the nurses torture him by holding him down while someone draws blood from his arms. The first arm the tried didn’t give them enough blood. So, they had to try the other arm. I remember he kept looking up at me for help. Looking at me and expecting me to make the pain stop. It took everything in me to not break down into tears. I remember feeling bad for him the first time he got his shots. This is a completely different level of pain that only a parent can feel. After they drew blood from him I was holding him trying my best to comfort him, but instead had to restrain him again for the doctor to give him an antibiotic shot.

The entire drive home I felt like I just had to be the worst parent in the world. I would look in the mirrors and see my sweet baby’s face. He was tired, hurt, and most likely scared. I feel for him. I hate that he is having to go through this. I wish I could take the pain away from him. I may not be the best mamma in the world, or even close to the best mamma in the world. However, I do know that I am a good mamma. I know that my baby boy is an amazing well behaved little man. I just question why we are going through this and what we did to deserve this. We already have one baby up in Heaven from when I had a miscarriage, I beg God to let me keep this baby boy.

After I got my little man home and down for a nap I had my brother watch him for a little bit while I went to the store to get my baby some Pedialyte, Pediasure, and some more medicine to keep his fever down. This little bit of stuff added up to Eighty-Seven dollars. I am a stay at home mom with possibly a long road ahead of me. We don’t find out the results of the blood test until tomorrow morning. If you cannot help out by sending a tip I completely understand. If you can send a tip or maybe even a few words of advice on how to take care of my little man I would greatly appreciate it.

You can reach me at:

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010374250258

Thank You for reading.

children
Like

About the Creator

Destiny Wooldridge

Currently a stay at home mom who is also going to start school in January 2021 to get my RN license. I am also learning how to love myself that way I can be a better fiance and mother.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.