Families logo

Runaway

A failed escape

By Elizabeth HunterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Runaway
Photo by Paolo Chiabrando on Unsplash

Most children run away from home at some point. One of my student families had a laugh about their son’s plans the last time I was there, how they offered to help him pack food and clothes, and he complained the suitcase was too heavy. My experience went… a little differently. No one knew I’d run away until years later, when I laughed about it in front of my parents.

When I was in third grade, my mother worked days, and my father worked afternoons. My sister had already been kicked out to live with our un-related grandmother (a tale for another day). I woke myself up with an alarm clock, made myself breakfast, packed a lunch, and got myself to school. The final bell rang at 8:30am, but the Aladdin cartoon started at 8:00. So many times, I pushed my luck trying to see the crucial ending of the show, and arriving a few minutes late to school. After I left, my father would wake up to help my little brother get ready for the day, and afternoon kindergarten.

One morning, it happened again. I let myself watch TV as I ate breakfast. I watched the end of my cartoon, looked at the clock and knew I was going to be late to school… again. I was so ashamed of myself. And, to top it off, I heard my brother and father waking up and desperately didn’t want to get in trouble for my dalliance.

I grabbed my pink backpack, and packed baby carrots, juice boxes, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, my little wallet, and my windbreaker. I snuck my white Huffy out of the garage, and rode away. The plan was to head to my grandfather’s house, about an hour away by car. Out of habit, I got myself to the bike path along the lake, stopping at a bench to have my first snack and think. I remembered that the bike path circled around a park, and came back. That wouldn’t get me to my grandfather’s. I had to get to the highway.

So, I wove my way through neighborhoods as far as I could. Right where the main street turned into a highway, I knew there was a lovely little ice cream shop. I was disappointed to see that ice cream shops were (and are) not open at 9am on a weekday, but I packed my little wallet back into my backpack and continued with my quest.

Within minutes of peddling on the side of the busy street, a woman pulled over. “Are you okay? Do you need a ride home??” In that tiny moment, realized this would never work. It was too obvious. I was a child, on a bicycle, on a highway in the middle of a school day. Damn.

“No.” I told the woman. “I’m just heading home now, I had a dentist appointment.” There are moments my ability to spit out believable lies as a child shocks me. When I think of it now, how impressive of a smooth talker must I have been for this woman to simply believe me and let me ride off? Or, maybe I give myself too much credit, and the belief came from a different time and place, where kids were more likely to roam free than my little suburban students now.

Whatever the reason she had for buying my story, I took the next right, back into neighborhoods I didn’t know well. I wove my way back to my own neighborhood, and pushed my Huffy into the school bike rack. I told the office woman that I’d had a dentist appointment, and my mother forgot to write me a note. She simply nodded and told me to get to class. While I felt flustered and quietly disappointed in my failed escape, I was relieved that by being late enough, I’d dodged being in trouble.

children
1

About the Creator

Elizabeth Hunter

A small town musician who moved to the big city, started a music lessons company, and is finally processing and sharing her bizarre personal stories from childhood, dating, and marriage.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.