Families logo

Roblox life

A child's Roblox's adventures

By Sophie larissaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I figured this would be helpful for parents who have children that are always on this game and not know much about it. Even though a lot of parents are watching there children being sucked out of existence and into this game. Trust me I know it too as my own daughter is living the life of roblox and think its her entire universe. You will probably notice as well that the kids are obsessed with the over whelming amount of youtubers that use this game as their money maker. They seem to go hand in hand and together they are the ultimate power couple when it comes to the fans of roblox.

For those who do not know much about the whole thing I will explain to help you understand why your kids are worshiping this game. To start with its overall a multi- player platform where children can play a vast variety of different games with any one else online. Most likely you may hear your child raving about adopt me, among us, some type of story or a tycoon. These from my experience in term's of my daughter these seem to be the top treading games the kids are on. They seem to get so immersed in these games that its life and its like they can become their own celebs or hero's. The amount of kids that use it as a way to put them selves out there and create there own identities without fear. They can be a version of themselves that is without imperfection. They can have 'friends' that maybe just online but yet they come alive online and play out as if they were reality.

Yes there are obviously like any where else when it comes to the web that there are dangers. Obviously with your child potentially interacting with hundreds and more of strangers online, there are dangers like personal info and safety elements. Other than that there are more specific dangers of bullying, scamming and hacking and list goes on. But like I say these dangers are present every where on the internet. If your child is at a younger age I would advise spot checking or watching while they play. what I did as my child is 6 I don't just watch over her shoulder, I check her account including messages I also play along side her. Yes I know it sounds too much and weird to some. However making myself an account and playing along side her I am in the middle of what goes on beyond adults. I can see what is exactly being said and in what context, I can see the content of the games and I am better informed to protect my daughter from scams or hacks. I also believe it or not I have a really good time with her and losing myself in her imagination.

I will also say that even though the bullying does exist, I have also been blessed to see first hand some children's kindness. Some personalities that come through If that's what they are like in reality there parents should be proud. As my daughter has autism she cannot communicate fully with others and also with her being so young. I have had to communicate on her behalf and once I had to say she has autism and that's why she's displaying such behaviours that looked odd to others. And this child who ever it was actually without any understanding began to play and copy her. My daughter felt so included and happy, she did not feel left out and was ecstatic for days after.

On a whole I would say that playing on a game platform that massive, regardless of dangers I would not immediately say no and deny them access. Even if you have to sit with them, take the time to watch how there life evolves. At times its quite interesting and magical how all of it is powered through imagination. If I am honest I even use it for my inspiration when I get writers block and because I played with her, I can see what the attraction is and why the kids are obsessed. Its pretty much a paradise for them and they can do anything, achieve anything and be who they want to be. My daughter has even transferred some of her knowledge on the games she plays to real life and its given her confidence. She had manged to incorporate the game 'among us' into her friendship groups that build her team work and she's added elements of it into her science lessons and art lessons at school. For those who do not know that game its a game where they are in a lab and have to do various tasks to maintain the lab and figure out which players are imposters. I had to explain to her teacher when she mentioned my daughters fascination and how its influencing her at school about what among us is. Her teacher informed me that she takes on quite the scientist role in role play situations and science experiments. She gets very engrossed in wanting to know how things work and different forms of science, although the experiments and testing theories are her favourite. Her teacher said she was extremely surprised for her age and cognitive levels and that she knew and could tell every one else what a theory was and the aim behind them. And in terms of her art work I have had models she's made out of any craft items they provide of things like science goggles, experiment tubes , engines and a mini command centre.

At the end of the say I am fascinated and proud that my daughter has developed in certain ways just from an online game. Plus like any kid they revel at the opportunity to teach us adults something rather than us teaching them. And even though that makes me feel old because I am asking my 6 year old 'what does mean ?' or 'what's this?' and 'how do I figure this out? '. We have even had situations where a another player has said something that I took the wrong way and my daughter stopped me from reporting them and explained that is was actually slang for a component in the game. But anyway I would if you are curious take a look into the world of roblox and let your child be the guide, you will be surprised at the feeling you get or how much fun you have once you get into the flow.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Sophie larissa

I have beautiful children and an amazing other half. They are more than enough for me. They are my reasons for doing what I love.

Instagram account- sophie_larissas_writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.