Families logo

Remembering the Small Memories

Thank God for Kids

By Natyri UnknownPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

“Mommy! Mommy!” I screamed louder and louder. My heart was racing as I got up and ran for my bedroom door, my teddy bear Nicholas in my left arm. I raced through the kitchen and into the dining room as fast as I could where I saw my mother. Letters on the table surrounded her and she was writing in a small rectangular book and ripping out the pages. My eyes stung with tears behind them as I opened my mouth.

“Mommy! Mommy! Nicholas’s ear is coming off! He’s hurt! Mommy, help him!"

“Well, put him on the table and I can fix him in a little, okay sweetie?

“No! Mommy, he needs help now!”

“Sweetie, mommy is doing something very important. Just leave him on the—“

“NO! NO! NO! I said now!

Mother sat there and sighed to herself in her seat. I screamed at the top of my lungs and stomped to my room. I slammed my door as hard as my little arms could. I started to cry as I held Nicholas close to me, tears dripping on his head. I let go of Nicholas and sat him in front of me. His ear had now ripped even more and I let out a loud shriek. I began to cry even harder now. My mother came into the room as I snatched Nicholas into my arms again, clutching him tighter. I looked at my mother and she looked at me, her eyes calm and sincere. She slowly walked over to me and scooped me into her arms. At that point my eyes became like a river. I cried hard in my mother’s arms as she pulled me closer to her. She sat on my bed, cradling me in her arms, my head on her chest as I shifted myself onto her lap and gently, she stroked my hair as I continued to cry. She kissed the top of my head and told me it was going to be alright in her sweet soothing voice.

“Shhh, it’s okay honey. Shhh…”

“Ni-Ni-Nicholas’s ear mommy, it ripped”

“Shhh, it’s okay.” She held me closer and kissed the top of my head again.

I could feel the tears slowly decrease and I felt her heartbeat in my ear as my eyes became heavy. I was falling asleep in her arms and she knew it. I yawned as she laid me down in my bed and Nicholas fell out of my grasp. She pulled the covers over my frail and tired body, tucked me in, kissed me on my forehead, and stood up. As my eyes were closing, I saw my mother pick up Nicholas from the floor and walk out of my room with him. I immediately fell asleep. When I awoke, I didn’t see Nicholas anywhere on my bed or in my room. I saw that my door was cracked open and I could smell something cooking in the kitchen. I slowly got up and walked out of my bedroom and into the kitchen where I saw mother hovering over the stove with a spatula in her hand. She turned around and looked at me with gentle eyes. I climbed onto a stool and sat at the island. My mother had set a plate with grilled cheese and a bowl of tomato soup in front of me. I looked up and smiled at her as she stroked my hair. She left the kitchen leaving me and my lunch. When I finished, I walked into the dining room and saw that she was positioned away from the door.

“Mommy, have you seen Nicholas?”

Mother turned her head and looked at me from the corner of her eye and smiled. Confused as I was, I walked towards her and as I approached her, I saw brown fur sticking out from in front of her. I immediately froze in my tracks; my eyes began to widen.

“Mommy?” This time she turned around and held Nicholas out to me. My jaw dropped and I could feel the rush of excitement spread all throughout my body. I ran to my mother with open arms shouting,

“You fixed him! You fixed him!”

I hugged my mother with Nicholas in between us and squeezed them both tight. I slowly pulled away from my mother and looked at Nicholas’s ear.

“He’s all better now!”

Mother looked at me and smiled as she pat me gently on the head. Nicholas’s ear was back together again and he was no longer injured. Nicholas was healed.

children
Like

About the Creator

Natyri Unknown

Read my Flog Diaries

From Facebook to here I’m sharing how I really feel...

Can you do the same?

You are not alone.

Message me and tell me your thoughts, I’d love to hear and so will others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.