Families logo

Remember that winter?

When a person is long gone, all we have are stories.

By Claire MasonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dedicated to the old fashioned souls out there.

I was never a tattooed person.

I didn't know what i wanted to do in my life. I never pictured myself as ''alternative'', even when i was bullied in high school for being an ''extraordinary introvert'' with my black clothes and my headphones always with me. The fact is that, like many and many people out there, i never had my group of friends and i felt like nobody every understood me completely. I always felt like an open book, surrounded by illiterates. (Pretty common, right?)

Maybe because we let people and their ''assumptions'' to prevail our young and fragile ego and to destroy our personalities, we let them shape our person when we're the only one that can really know how to do that, but in the time we thought: ''I want to fit in this group of friends and i will make sure of that.''

Anyway, as i was saying, everybody thought i was someone that just..was different, and i've always been treated that way since.

I was someone that was pointed out as ''not very sociable'' rather than ''misunderstood'', but people have always been afraid of something or someone that they cannot control nor understand.

I used to listen to Green day everyday before entering the high school gates because they were the only thing that made it bearable and i had one friend and that's it.

Tattoes are something that in the old times were classified as ''criminal'' or ''illegally painful'' but that with time changed in ''beautiful'' and ''representative''.

After school, since when i was little, i used to go to my grandma to have lunch. She used to prepare pasta with homemade tomato sauce and at this day i can't eat tomato pasta because it will just not taste as good as hers.

She used to freeze a loaf of bread and then made me and my older sister eat it drenched in a cup of hot tea. Pretty sick, right? I just loved it and today people look at me like i'm some kind of crazy monster because i still do it.

So i got my arm tattoo of a deer and an almond blossom branch mostly because i always relied in my family for everything; when my granma died, and i was her little ''cici'', i realized how family is important. The ones of us lucky enough to have had a beautiful family like i had, have to stick together. I got the deer because my grandma used to tell me over and over how when she grew up in the little cottage house under the mountains she used to feed the deers so much that a couple of them became so used to their presence that they wouldn't leave the edge of the woods.

She used to sit in front of the fire after a long day at work and she could still see them eating in front of the kitchen window, as her husband used to help her with this little passion.

I spent most of my childhood between snow and pines and my mom took me so many times with my grandma to see them, still telling me the story of when one winter was so cold that the couple of deers took cover next to their home.

For the ones of you who don't believe in this story, my mom was very little at that time but she still remembered those moments, and she keeps them in her heart even after grandma died.

My family still don't understand why i did this tattoo, and to be honest it's okay.

Under the deer and the flowers there's a small robin connected. Robins never touch the ground, because their wings are so wide that it's impossible for them to rise from the ground.

So please keep flying and move forward.

art
Like

About the Creator

Claire Mason

24 Years old living in London.

People write because they want to make an impact on other people. I write because my mind is full of thoughts.

Tattoed, but i'm trying not to make it too personal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.