Families logo

Recipes from YouTube

Food and family

By Heather A MaysonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Recipes from YouTube
Photo by Lukas Blazek on Unsplash

I have a slight addiction to YouTube. In truth, I probably watch it too much; I am often recommended videos I have already watched I’m on the site that much. But a lot of good content creators upload their videos on a set schedule with a bonus video uploaded every now and then. I know what days my preferred channels upload their videos. Although there are a few that don’t upload on a set schedule, which does keep me coming back to see if I’ve got something new to watch. It gives me a good excuse to procrastinate, even though I know I shouldn’t.

One of my favorite channels on YouTube is called Kara and Nate. This channel is a travel vlog, following a husband and wife team as they travel the world. I’ve been watching them since late 2019. They spent four years racking up a ton of frequent flyer miles as they visited 100 countries. Once the pandemic hit, they returned to home, bought a converted van and started driving around the US, visiting some pretty unique places along the way.

Sometime in 2020, they uploaded a video about cooking in their van, and Kara talked about a curry recipe that she was making for herself and Nate. She was even kind enough to post the recipe in the video description. I quickly jotted the recipe down. At the time, I had my nephew and his wife living with me and I needed a new recipe to cook for dinner. Not knowing what to call the recipe, I entitled it “Kara’s Curry Recipe” and I left it on the counter in the kitchen for easy access later. My nephew has always liked curry, so when he saw the recipe sitting there, he had to check it out. Looking at the title, he was slightly confused. I often talked about my friends in front of him, and he didn’t remember me ever mentioning anyone named Kara. So eventually I had to explain how I came across the recipe.

I’ve only made the curry a couple of times, and there are a few reasons for that. First, I’m not a huge curry fan to begin with. Second, my nephew has since moved out of state. And third, I still need to figure out just how much curry and turmeric to add so I don’t set my tongue on fire when I eat it. But my nephew enjoyed it immensely and he does like spicier foods than I do. As an added bonus, it is a really easy recipe to make vegetarian; the first time I made it while my nephew was here, we had a guest who was vegetarian. I was so excited that I had a recipe I could make for her. The only mistake I made was not making a large enough quantity for the number of people who were in residence at the time. I knew by then that at least a couple of people have much larger appetites than I do. And I should have taken that into consideration when I started cooking it, as I cooked other meals while my nephew was in residence that I had to double to the recipe just to be able to feed everyone.

I don’t normally look for recipes on YouTube. I typically do a Google search if I want to find new and interesting recipes to make, and I usually have something in mind by the time I sit down to search for the recipe. But I must say, that recipe turned out well, even if I still have to tweak the spice quantity the next time I make it. I’ve found a couple of other recipes (or at least recipe ideas) through YouTube through a couple of different channels.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.