Families logo

Protecting Value

Secrets and Reality

By Jasmine JonesPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Protecting Value
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

Protecting Value

Written by: Jasmine Jones

“Stop!”, I screamed frantically, as Jade chased after the hot yellow mustang. Her dad was gone and there was nothing she could do about it. I saw her face drop as she slowly paced back to the house. A coward, I thought. Only a coward would have his kid chasing after a car.

“Why mom, why”, Jade cried as she fell into my arms. “What have I ever done to him to cause me so much pain. Am I not pretty enough? Am I not dainty enough? Mom, what is it? Why is it that ….,"then she stopped in mid-sentence, and just ran off?

Feeling defeated I dropped to the ground. I knew he treated me badly, but not for one second would I have thought he would have done his seed like that. As I laid on the ground an ant started to crawl over my eye brow. Slightly biting me, I mushed it with my thumb, and it seems I automatically thought of a plan, and I was going to make him pay.

Days went by and Jade had become very quiet and antisocial. She wouldn’t eat. She wouldn’t drink. She just laid in the bed. Seeing my daughter like this, hurt me, so I figured it was a fine time to put my plan in to action.

To pull something off on Jade's dad I had to be very crafty. Had to hit him where it hurt. For her dad was a sly conniving criminal, but I was one also. It was time to transform. I went to my room and I found my longest red wig, my biggest bushiest lashes, and my red stiletto heels. I matched it up with a tiny leopard booty hugging dress and I headed to the lounge.

The lounge is where Jade's dad frequent often. I didn’t anticipate him to be there but I was well aware that his best friend would. Now, his best friend, Thaddeus, he should have been Jades dad. He stood six foot 5, nice chocolatey complexion, nice full beard, and just a tall mocha latte. He had his mind on straight and this was one of his 3 successful establishments. Years ago, before I had Jade, I had a little black book. I wrote all my dreams and aspirations in this little friend of mines. I used to hide it in fear of someone getting ahold of my most sacred secrets. In the book I wrote about all the things I could see me doing with Thad, and just like that I left it out on the counter, and Jade's dad read it. Boy was he furious. He sat me down and told me that I was to never see Thad or speak to Thad ever again in life. Foolishly I agreed, but with my current plan, I was about to break the promise.

I arrived at the lounge and I sprayed some of the sweetest smelling perfume all over my body and I headed to the door. The lounge was packed and the DJ was bumping. I looked everywhere for Thad and there he was. I walked up to him and automatically I jumped into his arms and kissed him as hard and passionately as I could. Not recognizing who I was he aggressively grabbed my shoulders. I looked deep into his eyes and he picked me up and took me to a back office. Once in the office he grabbed me and seductively made love to me on his desk. Every inch of his being was just magnificent and once we finished, I walked out immediately and went home.

The next day Jade and I went shopping. I was tired of my daughter looking sad and what is better than a shopping spree. As we were shopping my phone was blowing up. It was Jade's dad. “Hello”, I answered. “You dirty, low down, pathetic, simple minded, weak excuse of a mother”, he furiously spat into the phone. “Excuse me”, I patronized. “What are you talking about?” “I know what you did.” “And what did I do?” “You....” Click, “hold on one sec”, I interrupted him as I clicked over. “Hi”, I greeted the caller with enthusiasm.” Hi baby”, Thadeus responded back. “Did you receive the deposit for 20,000 in your account”? “Yes Thad, me and Jade are at the mall now”. “Well, you girls have fun, ttyl, love you”, and Thad hung up the phone. Smiling I knew my plan had succeeded.

As we enjoyed our day at the mall, Jade's dad was extremely angry. He was calling anybody who would listen and he was trying to justify his feelings but none of this satisfied him. After our day of shopping, I suggested Jade and I took a trip. Anywhere. Right then. No going home, no packing bags. We had all we needed from the mall and my baby needed a break. Jade was overly ecstatic and off we went to the sunny shores of Miami.

Once in Miami we caught a taxi to a beach house at least 30 minutes from the airport. This beach house was amazing. The sandy was so relaxing and the house was very invigorating. Once in the house Jade was breathless. Pictures of her and I were everywhere. She looked at me and I said, “Jade have a seat. Jade I’ve known your dad for years. We grew up with each other. He was my first love. Sometimes he was loving but most of the time he was very selfish and mean. Remember the day you chased after his car. Baby I was you for years, chasing after his car. Jade, I thought that having you, the chasing would stop, but instead it has pass down to you. And Jade, I will not stand for it. Jade Thad and I have been dating for 6 years. He loves me and he loves you. Jade we don’t have to chase him. He waited patiently on us. My daughter, I never wanted to turn you against your dad, and I didn’t want us to just leave our home and you resent me for taking you from your dad. So, baby I let him show you his true colors just like he did me. Sweetheart, no one should never have to chase anyone for their love. love should just come automatically”. Jade looked me in the eyes, and as her phone ringed continuously, she stated, “now he is chasing me! Thank you, mom.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.