Families logo

Presence: Intentional Friendship

Pool, Lantern, Jazz

By WindchimePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1

“You are cordially invited to celebrate with us our 25th wedding anniversary on the 28th of May 2023 in our residence, signed Vernie and Riz”, says the invitation I just opened from the pile of mails I received today.

I met Vernie Kalayaan Residence a dormitory for freshmen during my university year. We entered University the same year 1986. Our dormitory has 3 floors. It housed freshmen coming from the provinces. Vernie stayed in the first-floor annex. My room was located in the 3rd floor main corridor.

Vernie and I did not go to the same college, we went to different programs. She took Mass Communication; I took Special Education. We both have our separate set of friends. We only see each other in the dining area, receiving area, at the lobby or during activities like sports fest or at the chapel, both of us go to the same church in the campus. She often invites me to join her to do study group or do bible sharing which I said yes to a couple of invitations but did not make to attend all because I was also busy doing other stuff looking back now, I would say less important stuff.

On our second year we need to transfer dormitories. Both Vernie and I moved to an all women dormitory, she moved to Ilang-ilang Residence which is next to my dormitory Kamia Residence. We still see each other in the chapel, or on retreats or in CASAA one of the University’s canteens which is close to our dormitory or to the little shed where an elderly lady sold home cook food which I prefer because it not only reminded me of home, it is also cheap and more nutritious at the same time I am also helping a small business enterprise.

I never saw Vernie nor heard from her after university. Until one of our batchmates in the Freshmen dormitory organized a reunion and I attended to see old friends and there I saw Vernie again. I got her contact number and we’ve been in touch since then.

April 28, 1998, I got a wedding invitation from Vernie and Riz, a month early for their wedding day which is May 28. For some reason I did not make it, I can’t remember any more if it was due to work, other prior commitments or simply due to personal circumstance that attending their wedding was not a priority.

Vernie met Riz from work. Riz is an Architect, he graduated from a different university. They have no children. They have 2 pets, a Havanese named Poncho and a Pomeranian named Wanda. During the first five years of their marriage, they lived in a condominium owned by Riz’s parents.

They moved in to their new house on top of the hill overlooking the busy city of Manila 10 years ago. Riz designed the house, being an architect himself. And now they are celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary at their very own home by the swimming pool decorated with white and yellow lanterns. And this time I made it.

While Vernie and Riz are busy entertaining their guests- family (both Vernie and Riz’s dads passed away), family friends and relatives, co-workers, friends who came from faraway places and overseas and long lost friends whose presence are their way of saying, we are here, we may never be there on those times that you needed us or those other milestones in your lives as married couple but we are here now and our coming here today in your 25th wedding anniversary is our way of saying we want to continue to be part of your lives.

While everyone is busy reconnecting, filling each other about their lives. You can hear from the background a jazz band playing Vernie and Riz favorite songs from the 70s and 80s, Earl Klugh, Jim Chappell, Kenny G, Spyro Gyra and David Benoit are among my favorites too.

There is love in the air. The celebration has just begun. Everyone present wish Vernie and Riz another 25 years in their marriage with the hope and prayer that everyone will still be there to witness that milestone in their lives and in our friendship.

Intentional friendship, when you have formed that connection, despite any distance, circumstance you choose to be present and celebrate that friendship when you can.

I can!

And I celebrate!

fact or fictionfeature
1

About the Creator

Windchime

Hi! I am yellow.

I love writing poems for myself

and for my friends to enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.