Families logo

Potty-Training Tales

My daughter said some funny things as she was in no rush to become a big girl. I learned some important things, tool

By Dr Deborah M VereenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
7
Potty-Training Tales
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

As soon as my bright, precocious, and happy one-year-old daughter had her first birthday party, I plopped her on the most deluxe potty-chair I could find. I was more than confident that her training would be a breeze. However, she had other plans. For the next few years, she clearly articulated precisely how she felt about my unrelenting efforts to get her toilet training completed.

Here’s What Happened

By luis arias on Unsplash

As a toddler, my daughter’s overall development was very advanced. She surpassed verbal and physical milestones compared to her little peers. She began speaking audible words at 10 months old and she spent little time crawling. One day my toddler stood up, crept around furniture, and began walking independently when she was also10 months old. So, it came to me as a complete shock that my bright toddler had no interest in learning about self-toileting when I thought she should have been.

When she was around 18 months old, I simply asked her why she would not use her potty-chair. As she waved her tiny little hand in my direction as if to dismiss the possibility of becoming more independent, this was her surprising response to me in her cute and tiny voice:

I don’t have time to use the potty”.

At the age of two, my young child easily expressed herself in complete sentences to let me know that she had more important things to do than use her potty-chair. After all, there were her favorite television programs to watch like “Teletubbies”, “ Wow Wow Wubbzy”, and “Barney”, her fun toys to play with, and lots of running, jumping, and hopping to do. (And she learned to do those physical activities well at a young age and began her journey as a gymnast, too.)

Even though my little girl hated wearing diapers and pullups, she was not motivated to do what big girls did. She did a lot of complaining about what she needed to continue to wear. I once remember my daughter exclaiming out of exasperation

this diaper is soakin' wet!”

She was still around two years old at that time. I couldn’t believe that she was upset about feeling the discomfort of a wet diaper but still made no attempt to become toilet-trained.

My daughter’s complaints about not being ready and able to consistently wear brightly colored and fun big girl undergarments reached an all-time high. She often and boldly protested

I have a wedgie

whenever she wore a bulky diaper or pullup. She complained to me that these things always gave her a wedgie.

As a former child-development teacher and educator, I thought I did everything thing according to best practices and research related to toilet-training my daughter. In addition to letting her wear kid-friendly regular underwear, I used other techniques, too. For example, I developed a schedule for her toileting and celebrated any success that she had used her potty-chair. Sadly, nothing I tried worked.

One Day Something Miraculous Happened

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Without fanfare or any other pleasant warning, my daughter became interested in consistently learning about becoming toilet trained. My initial thoughts were that she was just tired of being “soakin' wet” and having “wedgies” from her diapers and pullups. I also assumed that my daughter finally found the time to use her potty-chair.

But, there was much more to these initial thoughts.

It was as though a switch turned on inside her little body. When my daughter was three years old, she was finally ready to become a big girl.

One Final Thought

By Tyson on Unsplash

As a parent, I learned some valuable lessons throughout the time that I spent toilet-training my daughter.

Looking back, she was too young to begin the process when I presumed she was ready. I mistakenly believed the time that I began training her was the right time for her because she was very intelligent and kinesthetically advanced for her age.

I now realize that I put far too much pressure on my daughter by overstimulating her with all the potty-training accessories and research-based strategies that I used when she was not ready.

The moral of my story is quite simple.

Each child is a unique being. Each one develops at an individualized pace. That means that they will make specific developmental strides in key areas of their lives when they are ready.

My daughter was fully toilet-trained on her terms. When the time was right for her, she mastered it. And it did not take a long time.

My daughter said some funny things as she was in no rush to become a big girl. I learned some important things, too.

Thank you for reading this story. If you enjoyed it, consider sharing it on your social media platforms. Also, please consider adding a tip to help fund my work to increase family engagement in education.

This story was originally published on Medium.com in A Parent Is Born.

children
7

About the Creator

Dr Deborah M Vereen

As a mom, former family and consumer sciences teacher, and school administrator, I write about parenting, family, and education topics. Visit www.Drdeborahmvereen.com to view my work as a family engagement influencer & my YouTube channel!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • test2 years ago

    支持,写的非常好,这是一个孩子必经的过程,也是家长需要学习的事

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.