Families logo

Picture Perfect

Making Picture Collages By: Mariann Carroll

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

I love making picture collages of my daughter .I started this hobby when my daughter was a baby.You cannot take enough pictures of your child or your beloved pets .Children are parents pride and joy.Our pets makes us laugh.

My neighbor , Helen was starting her home business ,teaching scrapbook page design and layout ideas .She also sales products and tools. This is before the internet industry's and YouTube's DIY (Do It Yourself) .My neighbor ,Helen knock on my door one winter morning and asked me if I would like to make Photo memory scrapbooks?Why not ,I was pregnant and feeling better from Morning sickness . I invited Helen in my home .Helen Started laying out items from her tote bag she was carrying on my kitchen table .She showed me examples and asked which one I would like to create or I can try to create my on design inspired by her samples.I was having fun and having a very pleasant conversation with Helen. I also bought a few Items that Helen had on hand ,most especially the Blue scissors.(Till this day the scissors is still sharp and I had it for over 17 years.)

My favorite Collage is the one I made with my daughter ,Chloe .My daughter was maybe around five or six years old when we made her first table mat with pictures of us having fun together,stickers of what she want to be when she grow up.There was also empowering words on this Collage , "Believe in yourself ". I wanted my daughter to become a confident woman .When we made this collage my daughter wanted to be a doctor. My daughter and I love going to this craft store and this store sale any item you can think of. We bought a pet veterinary 3D sticker and used the doctor coat and place a head picture of my daughter on it.When I see this mat we made together ,I smile with happiness reliving that special moment . I luminated the mat so it will last long. While we where making the mat we having our mother daughter moment ,Bonding time.I have made Calendars out of pictures of my daughter and me having bonding moments.

My dog Snowy past away Seven years ago.He was the best dog I ever had and my first baby.He died at 16 years of age .If he was human ,he would have been 112 years old. He can point with his paw the letters from a flash card and He barks answers to a multiplication question.I had travel to a few countries with him. I was very sad for a year or so caused ,I miss him so.I started putting pictures of Snowy together and it made me smile and laugh at the memories those pictures bring.I made a picture collages cut out in shape of a dog.My favorite picture of my dog Snowy was when he wears his Halloween custumes .Collages of design scrapbooking is my outlet in reliving and creating my happiness.

These days creating fun Bulletin Boards for my classroom bring me happiness especially when I get compliments on them and inspires the other teachers at our center where I work.My favorite board I made was a cut out tree made out of contruction paper with a child on the the swing or was it the board I made a picture scene cut out of construction paper of a beach with babies playing on the sand?Creating anything from my own imaginations make me happy . I always amazed myself that you can do anything you put your mind to focus on.

diy
4

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.