Families logo

Passing the Gift On

A Grandmother and Granddaughters talent

By Kristina SteffyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 15 min read
2
Our crafts

First and foremost

I am a very creative person! Oh my where to begin?!?! Creating is my passion! Creating is my happiness! I will make-shift anything I need to for decorating my house. I wish I had a whole room just for all my crafty things! Where to begin? I think I will start off from where it all started!

The start of my creativity

My Grandma was very crafty! She sewed, crocheted, knitted, cross stitched, and did anything with thread, yarn, and scissors. She loved to make little neat gifts for her family. I was the lucky one who shared her talent. One day a lady gave me a cross stitch pattern for my tenth birthday. The picture looked so pretty, but I didn't know how to do it. I then thought of my grandma. Surely she would teach me. She was very happy to teach me! I remember sitting down so in awe as she had me do everything myself, telling me what to do. After I finished the pattern I gave it to my grandma for a keep sake and a thank you. She was so honored. I didn't stop there either! I loved it so much my grandma made me a cross stitch kit for Christmas. She put some thread together, got some cloth, and some patterns. She even gave me a special pair of scissors! She put everything in a neat little box and she was so happy to give it to me! I cross stitched every minute I could!

Grandmas kit she made for me

Then I began to hand sew! We didn't have enough money to get me a sewing machine at the time, but I loved to hand sew. I had no problem with hand sewing. I began to get really creative. I just took off with it. I started making my own cross stitch patterns. I began sewing ruffles on my skirts, fixing holes, and cutting my skirts to add more material to make the skirt prettier. If there was something that I wanted to know how to make, I would take it apart and figure out how to make it, as I did with a flower hair clip. I bought a few and figured out how to make them myself! I tried to sell them but I didn't have much luck.

Flower Hair Clip

I’m not just into needle and thread only. When I was about 14 I started helping out a friend with Sunday school. Sometimes I would come up with little crafts for the children, to go with my friends’ lesson. I would stay up late cutting and gluing paper together for the next morning’s lesson. It made my heart fill with joy when the children enjoyed my little creations! Sadly, I don't have any pictures to show.

My sister knew I had a talent for creating things and decorating. She had me do all the decorations for her wedding. She gave me some mason pint jars to decorate, and my ideas just kept coming and I had fun trying to make the jars look pretty and unique. I couldn’t believe my sister trusted me to make her center pieces for her wedding! Of course, she gave me ideas on how she wanted them. I felt so honored, but yet a little nervous because I was afraid that my creativity wasn't as awesome as I thought. But everyone loved them! Some even wanted to take the center pieces home! I also had the honor to make my sister’s wedding veil. It was the first I ever made. It was a sparkle sheer material. I cut the material like I thought a veil should look like. I made sure she liked the length. For the front I bought a tight netting, cut a piece to her desired length, and sewed the two pieces together. Once I had sewn them together, I cut some white felt to hide the sewn part and glued it on. Then took the headband she wanted and glued it on. I thought it could have been better but my sister loved it! That's what mattered! As long as she was happy with it, I was happy with it.

My sisters reception

An artist will always feel they could have done better.

I'm not much on bragging, but my talent doesn't end there! My creativity just goes wide! It gets wider and wider as I learn new things!

My first sewing machine 2015

When my husband and I were dating, he found out I sewed but didn't have a sewing machine. He thought I would enjoy a sewing machine (he was right.) I told him I didn't need it. I was doing just fine sewing by hand. He wouldn't have it! He told his family that I just didn't understand how much easier a sewing machine would be. I wanted one to be honest, but I didn't want him to spend all his money on me. I ended up telling him he could if he wanted to. So he bought me the sewing machine that I still use today! It was so sweet of him! And I sure did put it to use! I made pillows I wanted to sell. As well as a table runner!

My Sewing Machine

I was so excited to show and tell my grandma! After all, she was the one who taught me what I knew! I couldn't wait to see her again! I almost made my boyfriend take me to her, to not only meet him but tell her about my new sewing machine! But, he couldn't he had to go. He lived 3 hours away and had to get back to his job... I never was able to tell my grandma. She passed away a week later. My heart broke. I knew she was sick, but we never thought she would pass away so fast. I wished so bad that I had made my boyfriend take me to see her that one last time. I was planning on making her a cross stich pattern that gave her the honor for teaching me to cross Stich.

"With Love To The Stitcher Who Started me Stitching"

It's a very cute design, I had planned to make it more personal. "With Love to the Grandma who started me stitching." But I didn’t get the chance to. R.I.P my beloved Grandma. Thank you for all you taught me! You were the one who helped me start my love for creating beautiful things!

I claimed all her cross stitching stuff. That’s all she had left of her crafting things. She had stopped crocheting and had started cross stitched more. I still have it all too! Every color is numbered! She was serious when it came to her cross stitching. Love you Grandma!

My first big Project 2016-2017.

2016 My boyfriend popped the Big Question! And...I said YES!! "Finally" (I had him do it twice just to be sure) Lol. Now what does that have to do with crafting you may ask? Well, let me tell you…

Every girl’s dream is to go to a wedding dress shop. They try on dresses and pick the perfect one... Not me... I dreamed of the unthinkable! I wanted to make my own wedding dress! I believed I could do it! My Grandma made my mother's wedding dress. So I thought It would be easy. I had a mother-in-law who could help if I needed. This was my first ever attempt to make a dress! Yes, you read that right. My first attempt to make a dress… And a wedding dress at that! I never in my life made a dress, a shirt or even a skirt. I only fixed and added. I thought it would be easy! Girl…. I had no clue what I was doing, haha! But I kept going. It meant the world to me to make my own dress! I had planned this since I first met my husband, I intended on marrying him! I knew I would need lots of material! So I started it out small. When I had the money I would go out and buy some yards of material at a time. The materials I used were satin and a sheer, sparkly material. The first thing I made was the belt of my dress. In the middle of my belt, I made it come to a soft point. I bought a very pretty jewel to put at the points. This I did before I had a sewing machine. Yes… I sewed the belt by hand . Next, I cut out the satin skirt. And to be honest, I don’t know how I cut the skirt without making a huge mistake. I know I guessed and left lots of room to fix if needed. I ended up having to add more material to the train to make it look better, and that made it longer, which I liked! I know I cut out the back of the skirt separate, and cut out a piece for the front. Remember, I didn’t know what I was doing. I didn’t follow a pattern either… Yikes!!! I know!!! But I did my guesses and tried my best to make it work.

My wedding dress and veil

After I cut my satin, I cut the shear material to outline my train then come up to the front up to where my belt was gonna be. I had sewn the two satin pieces together, and then sewn the satin and shear material together at the waist. Once that was done, I then gathered the material at the waist to make a light ruffle. It didn’t work as I planned but I made it work. Then I stopped. I had no clue how to make the bodice. I was stuck. SO I waited till I could have my mother-in-law show me what to do.

My mother-in-law helped me with my bodice. Then I was able to put the skirt, bodice, and belt together. At the last minute, I decided to put lace around the outline of the sparkle material and at the end of my train. And I then added five buttons to the bodice. Five means grace, it was really important to me that I had five buttons. I just thought it was cool to have the number five on my dress with the meaning of grace. So I put the buttons and lace on. I also added a second layer inside for modesty. I bought a nice undershirt and sewed it to a lined skirt I had made. Then I attached the second layer to my dress. This took much longer than it sounds… probably a good year. I took my time and wanted to make it the best I could… Even though I didn’t think to follow a pattern… My mother-in-law thought I was crazy, lol, with no pattern.

I also made my veil. My veil was a lacey material with a rose pattern. For my veil, I used the same material for both the front and back. I gathered the material where I wanted the back and front to meet, and then used some felt to glue it to my headband. Then one day I found some beads in my grandma’s things. They had flat backs so I thought it would be perfect on my veil! Now I had my something old, and something blue. The material was something new. I was in love with my veil!

My veil up close

My dress… I was in love with the skirt! I still am. I did an amazing job at guessing! I had to pull out my dress to look at it since I was talking about it. I have to say I did a pretty good job! It was pretty, but I wish I had done a better with the bodice. Now that I look back, I should have used a corset. I was a little disappointed. Because I felt self cautious, my bodice wasn't perfect and didn't fit perfect. If I could go back, I would tell myself to choose a better style and I would give myself some tips I know now. I definitely wouldn't change the fact I made my wedding dress. I would help myself to make fewer mistakes. It didn't look bad, but I wish I had done better. But it had brought me excitement in making my own dress!

I didn't only make my own dress for my wedding, I hemmed my bridesmaids’ dresses too! I also added sleeves on and I made the tops more modest! (All my bridesmaids agreed to my fixings.) Hemming the dresses was easy! I pinned the dresses to the length they were happy with, then cut and sewed. I used the material I cut off the bottom of the dresses for the sleeves. I had enough material left to put on some white hand fans I had bought for my bridesmaids, to add color to them.

Cupcake holders, And dresses before and after

I had planned to decorate my whole wedding... I had made my own invitations. I made my two easy card board cupcake holders, but I didn’t like how plain they looked. So I decided to fancy them up with lace and doilies! I bought everything for my center pieces and had everything ready to go. But I didn’t have the time to set it all up. It went so well with my sister’s wedding I thought it would be just as easy. But things didn't work out the way I thought. It was a crazy day! Thank goodness some people volunteered! It was a mess, but it turned out perfect!

What I am doing now?

Now I do all kinds of things. I still sew and I just started cross stitching again. I hadn’t touched a cross stitch pattern since my grandma died… But I just began one and now I remember why I liked it so much! It’s so relaxing, reminds me so much of my Grandma! Not only relaxing, but the finished product is always amazing!

The Lords prayer, Almost done with lettering then onto the flowers

I also learn to crochet in 2020! My mother-in-law taught me and I caught on fast! It’s so hard to stop. I enjoy crocheting so much! I have so many projects going! After I finish one, I start on the next. I made about 10 styles of crocheted pot holders. I made a big blanket for my dad, and a lap blanket for my mother. I also made baby scarves, baby blankets, baby hats, baby booties, and table runners to sell.

All my yarn and finished projects

My sister recently had a baby girl! And I made 3 crocheted blankets, a hat, 2 pairs of baby booties, and a small quilted blanket. When we had the baby shower, I had the honor in making the corsage. I went all out on that thing! I even had enough ribbon to make a corsage for each aunt and grandmother. They turned out very pretty. I couldn’t help but be so proud of them! XD

Corsages I made

I have so many other projects I need to finish! I have a dress I need to finish sewing. I just need to attach the bodice and skirt, as well as my sleeves, and make some adjustments. Then that will be finished! I also have a cross stitch pattern I just started, and a baby blanket I have been crocheting. But sadly, I had to take a pause on crocheting… I ended up getting tendonitis in both my hands back in September of 2020. In about five weeks they healed up, and I began crocheting again. But I had to stop again about a month and a half ago, because I got tendonitis again… Yes, again, in both hands… Doctors think its turning into carpel tunnel now. But I am doing much better than I was a week ago! Completely healed! I can’t wait to get back to crocheting again! I can’t wait to finish all my projects, and then start a new one! I can’t stop! It’s an addiction. I have to do something! If not crocheting, then sewing! If not sewing, then cross stitching.

I want to start a new hobby, Cricut. It looks like so much fun! I am saving to get a machine. I cannot wait! I really need a room for all my hobbies, because my hobbies keep growing! There are so many things I want to do. So many things I want to get! My list can go on and on! Creating is my happiness. I would love to be a designer for weddings, houses, and parties! Thinking back on doing the decorations for my sister’s wedding, makes me want to do another one so bad! I felt so honored and happy to decorate her wedding!

My husband and I just recently went into Hobby Lobby. There were so many things I wanted to grab and buy, so MANY things! My mind will start to create what I could do with this and that. I would love to get into wood designing! Even fancy paper excites me! I would love to start scrap booking, or even make my own birthday and holiday cards! I could buy everything in sight that I wanted and put it all together and make something beautiful. I told my husband that we shouldn’t have come to Hobby Lobby, because I wanted almost everything there. More yarn, (like I need any) more fabric, beads, a new pair of scissors even. When I walk into Hobby Lobby, I want a new pair of everything! I ended up just walking out with a hoop for my cross stitch pattern I am working on. I couldn’t decide what I wanted more, so I just bought the hoop. Our money can’t buy everything, HAHA, We’d be broke!

Thank you for taking the time to read my little article about myself and my projects throughout the years! And I hope that if there are any projects you’re working on, that they turn out beautifully! Feel free to give a like or even a tip if you wish, thank you! May your day be blessed!

grandparents
2

About the Creator

Kristina Steffy

Writing is my passion. I try to put my all into each and every story. I love to either give advice, make someone laugh, or even a heart felt discussion. I write as if I was talking to you face to face. I hope you enjoy reading my Stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.