Families logo

Pages I Follow on Facebook

If you are a fellow mom, or parent, these are just a few to look into if you are looking for inspiration, or if you like funny surprises in your news feed.

By Kelly HornePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A mix of the pages headers.

I have pages on Facebook of people that I have followed because they either make me laugh or are relatable. The posts these groups show speak to me, and just remind me that no one is alone in the minor or major issues that come up in life. There are many other pages that are similar, but this is just my top three.

1) The first person I follow is Tiffany Jenkins and her page is named “Juggling the Jenkins”. She is a mother who is not afraid to share about her past history overcoming depression and drugs. She’s not afraid to show up on the camera with hair in a fast bun and little to no makeup. These are qualities that I aspire to; to reach that stage of being so comfortable in my own skin that I can appear before the “world” and not have to wear a mask. She is hilarious and has made some rather funny videos that at the heart of things often have a great message behind them. In other videos she shares her heart and feelings on things in her life or observances she has made, and they are always insightful.

2) The second page I enjoy is a sister page to "Juggling the Jenkins". Meridith Masony is the page creator and the name of her page. She is a little more "in your face" than Tiffany, and I do not always agree with her posts, but she at least comes at things from an angle that makes you think. I love when she calls out her own children, though I know my kids would be mortified if I ever did so on social media. She's a strong personality but sometimes her rants are so on point that it can make me feel less stress just by listening to her. There is just something about hearing someone else share the same feelings as you that can help you feel justified in your emotions. My husband says I overreact to certain things, so when I hear a fellow mom getting just as upset over something as me, then I know I’m not crazy. I know in my heart of hearts that it shouldn’t take some complete stranger to justify what I feel but knowing someone else sees things from a similar perspective is just helpful sometimes. Call it cheap therapy if you will.

3) The last page I follow and love is from a family also from North Carolina, like myself. This is important for being relatable because when they talk about our weather or do a funny video on things going on in NC, I know exactly what they are talking about because I’m here too. They are a family who showcase their children in a lot of their videos and have an older daughter and younger son, just like my personal family. I love when they explain things to their children about how things have changed from when they were younger or do the videos of the teen trying to make them trendy. My son and I have watched several of these videos together, as they are always family friendly, and we are both able to enjoy them.

Our latest song my son and I will just start singing in the middle of nowhere is their parody of the Little Einsteins theme song. I've included it just as a brief showcase to the talent this family has (even though he has a cold in this video).

Just for the record, I’m not endorsing any of these folks because I am by any means receiving anything from them. I just know somehow in our great world of technology we have reached a time where we do not socialize in the same methods. Watching someone’s videos or even being a ”friend” on Facebook does not give us the same rewards as being face to face with someone. However, we are in a world that has changed so quickly, and Covid has not helped with making people feel more isolated now than ever. In these times, it’s important to at least have some uplifting and relatable content in the mindless scrolling of social media. These are my top three go to pages when I just need something to remind me that I'm not alone or if I need a laugh.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Kelly Horne

Married. Loving mother to my daughter and son. Full time employee of local government office as an Admin Asst. Currently in process of obtaining my Master's Degree in Library Science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.