Families logo

Our Last Holiday All Together

You will have those opportunities, never let them fly by

By Sharing RandomlyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Our Last Holiday All Together
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

It was one sunny day, we knew the holidays were coming. We were all excited, gathered among our family reunion. We had not been all together for years! So it was a surprise right there and then. It was a lovely afternoon, suddenly my grandfather proposed to go on a vacation! Everyone started to look at each other and I knew the outcome would be out of this world.

For context, all of my uncles are always busy and my cousins don’t usually tag along. But it had to be. The following week, it happened. 25 of us were all excitingly gathering all of our luggage onto the cars, it was total happy chaos. Yes, I know, 25 people going on a vacation is a lot! We are a huge Mexican family so we have lots of uncles, aunts, and cousins as the immediate family. Now imagine the extended one!

We headed out to our destination of choice, a wonderful magical town near a church where my grandparents love to go. It was my second time going there but it was my first having all family members tagging along. It was full of wonderful chaos. So much was going on as we decided to head on our way and the excitement was in the air.

The church we were heading to was in San Juan de los Lagos, a majestic cathedral that has thousands of devoted people passing by. And as we head there, we also stay in San Miguel de Allende, you may know it as a magic town. Both places are full of art, culture, delicious food, street entertainment and so much more. It was a great destination to go with everyone else.

By Felix Rostig on Unsplash

I do have to admit that I was also a person who usually did not go to family gatherings for one reason or another. But this felt different. And as my grandfather was the one to say that we should all go, we all did. I left everything pending as I felt that I just had to go. It was a one-of-a-kind trip!

Of course, the journey was wonderful, the places were beautiful, but the people I was with were the best part. We laughed all day, we played, we ate and we fooled around. It was full of joy, happiness, and relaxation. We swam as we had never swum before! It had been the first trip together with absolutely everyone. We do all care for each other but everyone has their own schedules, jobs, and school. We hadn't been able to do such a trip before.

It was the first, but unfortunately, it was also the last.

I think my grandfather already knew what was going to happen, I think he could feel it. Not even a month later, he got hospitalized. He stayed there for another month. He had tons and tons of surgeries. He fought but he did not survive.

Even though that vacation was just for a few days and was humorously hectic, it has been the best one for me. I will always treasure those days in my heart and will remember the love that we all had.

And what I will remember the most, is the loud laughs my grandfather had. You could sense his happiness a kilometer away. We were all joyful because of it. I am thankful that everyone could make it to that trip, it will forever be with me.

Remember that the destination may not be the main part of a holiday/vacation, but it's the people who you are with.

Treasure every moment you have, since you may not know, it can be the last.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Sharing Randomly

Just a normal woman with lots to share. I write about art, mental health, entrepreneurship, and lots more.

Support me: https://ko-fi.com/sharingrandomly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.