Families logo

Newfound Excitement of a Tired Mom!

It was my 27th birthday yesterday, and to be honest I was feeling pretty bummed.

By Samantha FushteyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So, it was my 27th birthday yesterday, and to be honest I was feeling pretty bummed all day with the stresses that come with this crazy adult life. I was worrying about finances with the holidays coming up, I was worrying about my house not being clean enough, and most of all I found myself worrying about the fact that I wasn't excited to be celebrating another year on this earth.

You see, I am a mother of 3 awesome little humans and the wife of a wonderful husband... I am usually so caught up in trying to make sure that the other four people in my home have something to be excited about each day that I totally put myself on the back burner..something I have been doing for the last almost 7 years since embarking on motherhood.

Today, I got excited. Not because I suddenly had my finances in order, not because my house is clean (honestly it's a disaster) but because I went on Amazon and bought my 2 little boys a froggy shaped urinal for our bathroom. Yes that excited me. To a point of feeling the need to share my new purchase with my closest friends and husband. Which then got me thinking, why the heck am I so excited by this? I didn't buy something for myself like my husband is always suggesting, I once again made a purchase for my children as usual. So why did this whopping $10 item excite me so much? After pondering about it a little bit more I came to the realization that when my almost 4 yr old saw the new froggy urinal he would be super excited to be able to "pee standing up like daddy" using his very own special potty and that made me realize that my excitement as a mom comes from the joy I am able to bring my children from something as simple as a 10 dollar potty. They don't care if the bills get paid, or if the house is clean. They care about the silly little things that really have nothing to do with any of things that mommy stresses and worries about. This new realization made me feel even more excited due to the fact that I came to the conclusion that yesterday on my birthday when I was having a bummer of a day, my kids were also having a bummer of day right along with me. Why? because I was so focused on the things that were going wrong and bothering me that I didn't even take the time to do something special with them on a day where they would typically want to bake a cake with me etc. They were however very excited last night when I got home from my weekly yoga class. They were excited because daddy let them stay up late just to run mommy a hot bath with lavender bath salts to enjoy at the end of her birthday. The fact that they were so happy to do something nice for a tired me made me happy yet kinda sad at the same time. It made me feel guilty for being such a downer all day. They don't understand why mommy gets stressed or why I'm not always having the time to play or color pictures because I want to get my housework done. All they understand is mommy is busy, mommy is upset, what are we doing wrong to make mommy feel sad or mad?... so today when I pressed confirm purchase on the Amazon webpage for the awesome little green froggy urinal, I decided that I have completely overlooked the real things that bring me excitement. I decided that maybe being a mom doesn't have to be as stressful as what we may make it most days. I decided to think more like my kiddos and just enjoy all the little things in life. That to me sounds a lot more exciting than the thought of maybe one day not having to worry about finances or having a clean house. In fact, as I sit here writing this, my two oldest children are sitting in front of me sharing a bowl of Cheetos and watching Elf as happy as can be and I am about to join them instead of cleaning my kitchen and steal their snack to make myself some cheeto walrus tusks just to hear them giggle. And that is something worth bring excited about.

:) The drained, stressed but very excited mom. xo

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.