Families logo

New Teen Mom

Story Continues

By Virginia GreenPublished 4 years ago 11 min read
1

Hi, your friend Gin is back!

I visited with an old middle school friend todayMay 28th, 2020; we spent four hours talking about our days at Connell Jr. High. We talked about names we hadn't heard in years and wondered where life has lead them, hoping that all is well with them and their families. My soul is yearning to contact old school mates; I am not sure why; but I know I need to follow through with it. I have looked up numerous people on Facebook, some successful, some not so successful. I want to thank you again for reading my story. Lets get back to where I left off.

So here I am 15 almost 16 years old and going into labor with my first born daughter; she was born June 18th, 1979. My mom was right there by my side the whole time. She was 8lbs 8 3/4 oz. 19 inches long. My mom called her father and advised he needed to get to the hospital and make arrangements for the bill and for me and the baby to be discharged.

I was in my hospital room napping that morning after giving birth. I was extremely tired; I heard my hosptial door open. I wondered whom it could be, I was not sure what time it was. I was in a semi private room; I was in the bed closest to the window; the bed near the door was empty at the time so I knew the visitor had to be for me. I opened my eyes and at the foot of the bed was her father. I asked him "what are you doing here?" he replied "I came to see my daughter and make arrangements for payment and ya'll to be dischared". I said " Oh, ok, well the baby is in the nursery" he left a stuffed animal for her; turned around and walked out. I have no clue if he ever went to see her or not. He did come see her one time, if I remember correctly she was about 2 weeks old; he looked at her and said she was beautiful, gave mom a check for attorney fees from when he signed over all parental rights when I was 6 months along, then turned around and walked out. I didn't hear from him again until the day AFTER her 1st birthday. I advised him he was a day late and that he could see his daughter if he brought me diapers and formula; he never showed. I have not seen nor heard from him since..39 years!!!!

Time goes on, it is hard being a new mom and school started back up. I had a hard time being pregnant in school; numerous reasons, some I remember, some I dont; I ended up having to get out of school early; the principal at the time made a deal with me; when I come back in September 1979 in my junior year, that I need to keep up my grades and attendance up and not get into any trouble and I would be able to graduate with my classmates in 1981.

The next couple years I do not really remember a lot. I was going to school and worked in a nursing home as a nurses aid. I was able to do as promised so I did graduate May 28th, 1981. I am a very determined person and when I set my mind to something I will get it done; this is one thing that I have always done. I do remember one thing around this time; it was my senior prom. I went with a guy that I had a major crush on; I never let him know about it; he was a perfect gentleman; we went as friends. I don't remember anything about the prom except that I had a light blue gown and he had on a blue tux. The only reason why I remember those details is because I used to have an 8x10 picture of us; but guess what???!! I lost them in that storage unit because of my 1st husband not paying the bill.

Momma, my brother and I lived together in a house. Momma was and alcoholic and smoked heavily. She was unemployed and getting social security for my little brother, from his dad's death; I was working as much as I could. She watched the babies while I was working. Mom, Eddie (little brother), Samantha and I moved into a trailer house after daddy's death. It was a single wide; I do not remember exactly where in San Antonio; however we made friends with a family next door; we got REALLY close. The dad was a Lt. Colonel in the army; they were living in the mobile home until a house on base was available for them. I dated one of the boys for a few months; we broke up because I was a little older and his parents felt that we should not be seeing each other since I was "experienced". I really did like him but I understand why they did it. We stayed in contact with them after they moved on base. We were so close that I called them mom and dad after a while.

I found out that she wasn't paying the bills like she should have been doing. I knew a family (I was good friends with one of the daughters) unfortunately I do not remember their names; however I can kind of see faces and the house we lived in. My baby girl (Samantha) and I lived there for a while; the mom would watch her while I worked. I am not sure what happened but I needed to move out of the house and find my own apartment with Samantha.

I was not making much money at the nursing home and it was going to be hard for me to provide for the two of us by myself. I thought there was only one way I was going to be able to do this; so I went to my dear friends in Ft Sam Houston; I asked them if they would please take care of Samantha for a while so that I could get some money saved; I planned on getting a second job; they agreed to help me; I was so grateful. So I got a room mate; she was a very good friend of mine; we had known each other for a few years. I remember what she looked like clearly - strawberry blond hair, freckles and her name is Tammie; she married Richard; I lost touch with them; its a shame I don't remember their last name; I would like to see how they are doing and catch up. If its meant to happen; it will happen.

After the family (Lanhams) got Samantha they ended up having a meeting with me and convinced me that it would be in Sam's best interest if they adopted her; she would have older siblings, a mom AND dad and I could see her at their discretion. So I decided that it would be best for her; I was a young mother and having a hard time providing for me; so we went through with the adoption (she was almost 2). I was somewhat relieved because I knew that she would be taken care of properly and have things she needs and wants. I LOVE her so much; so I felt this was right for HER in the long run! Turns out this is the FIRST of a few hard decisions I would need to make in my adult life.

After the adoption, I went through a depression. I do not remember very much about the next few years, unfortunately. Next thing I remember is Momma, Eddie (little brother) and I had moved to another mobile home out 281 south; it was a mobile home park. There was a bar out in front of the mobile home community; it was called The Hideaway. Momma went to work there as the bar keeper if I remember correclty. I would go to the bar with her and take Eddie with me; I would play pool or play some music on the juke box and dance around with Eddie. He went with me everywhere I went still; I was still so happy to have a little brother.

One night there was a guy that came in there; I was immediately attracted to him. Well one night he came in and it was a little busy; I was helping by cleaning tables etc...momma was sitting at a table with Eddie; they were eating pizza.

When I was done with my little working around there I was going to go to the table momma and Eddie were at but this guy (Allen) and his friends had taken up the empty seats around mom; so I just picked a spot over in a corner and was watching everyone. Next thing I know Allen comes over and says "are you going to come sit with us or are you too good?" I replied "I am not too goot, just tell me where I am going to sit, there are no empty chairs" he said " watch this"...he took my hand, had me stand up; he took my chair over to the table and sat it beside his chair so that we were sitting together.

I am not sure how long we were together and next thing I know he is going to go to work with the carnival people from the rodeo; I really didn't want him to go; I was crazy about this guy....way too crazy! I think it was like a week after he left and I decided I was going to go to Houston and surprise him, I missed him so much. So I worked and saved money for a bus ticket.

Momma made a couple hamburger sandwiches and then took me to the bus station in San Antonio. If I remember correctly it was about a 5 to 6 hour ride, I left San Antonio like around 12:30am and got to Houston about 6am - something around there. Here I am in a city that I have never been to before.

So I precede to walk out of the bus station and try to figure out where the Astrodome is. I start walking; I have no clue what street I was on or where I was going but I was determined to get there one way or another. With the kindness of strangers I walked to the Astrodome from Greyhound Bus Station; for those of you whom are not aware; that was a very long walk! LOL...now that I know where they are located from one another I can't believe I did that! I got to the Astrodome around 10:30 or 11:00am or so. I found the carnival trucks and just started walking around the trucks trying to find someone to see if they could point me to where Allen may be. I had been walking around for about 15 minutes or so; I was not finding anyone around so I started thinking that I may need a plan B. I was this close I was not about to give up now. It was probably about 5 minutes later I see someone standing by a truck (bobtail). I think to myself, FINALLY I see someone may I can find him now, I hope they know who he is. The truck is a few rows away from me so I start walking towards the truck; as I get closer I realize its Allen! I get this big smile on my face and start walking faster; my heart is beating so fast and I am trembling. He was looking in the large side mirror on the truck messing with his curly hair trying to make it presentable. I get closer to the truck and apparantly he finally sees me walking towards him; he rubs his eyes, I am smiling big. He looked at me and said "Virginia, what are you doing here?" I told him that I missed him and had to come see him. He seemed happy to see me; told me that he planned on traveling with the carnival. I stayed there with him and they even put me to work; they put me in the corndog stand.

It was rainy, cold and miserable for about a week. Finally it cleared up and people came and we finally got to work and make some money. We decided to go back to San Antonio. I am a little foggy after this time and remember bits and pieces. We got a ride with someone that was going back to San Antonio. IF I remember correctly we went to his mothers house; it was located behind the Hideout - they lived in the back of the mobile home community where it was nicer; pretty much everyone had double wides, some had built onto them and made them look more like a standing home; they were fenced in, really nice area. I had not met his family as of yet; so obviously I was nervous. He lived with his mom, sister, brother and step dad. We visited for a bit and then we went to my moms and let her know that we were back.

Thats all for this part; I will start the other one here shortly. I hope that you are enjoying reading this as much as I am enjoying telling you about it. As I am writing there are bits and pieces that I am remembering about my life, certain faces will flash with a quick memory; no bad memories have come up as of yet.

See you soon!!!

Virginia

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Virginia Green

I am honest, loyal, caring, loving and my heart is bigger than me! My passions are my family and horses; I love ALL animals but horses are my passion! I am hoping my stories can help people realize they are not alone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.