Families logo

Nevertheless, she persisted.

For Priscilla and Karen

By Alivia VarvelPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
4
Nevertheless, she persisted.
Photo by Giorgia Finazzi on Unsplash

Just before she opens the door to get in her car, my Mimi turns back to my parents and me. "I love you guys." Her voice breaks only slightly, and her smile is shaky.

I say I love her back, and the thing I've been thinking about more and more as I get older hits me once again.

The days are long, but the years are short. One day, I'm 17 and graduating high school. And the next, I'm five years out of college and approaching 27.

My life continues to evolve and improve as I achieve all the things I've dreamed about. But that also means I'm watching my loved ones, especially family, grow older.

Time is running out.

Watching my Mimi get emotional just saying goodbye as she leaves to head to her house that's only five minutes from ours made me realize she feels it too.

It's my Grandma's 90th birthday party. All of her kids and grandkids (including me) wrote letters to her talking about how much we love her and how she has impacted our lives.

I'm left with an overwhelmingly bittersweet feeling after reading mine.

My family is so blessed to still have my Grandma around. But no amount of time will ever be enough.

No matter the age of both them and me, it's always too soon when you lose a grandparent.

Here's the thing about these ladies: they've lost a lot. Both have lost children and their spouses. Let me tell you something... If I experienced the same loss they have, I would become very bitter. But not them.

After losing two daughters, her husband, and nearly losing my mom, My Mimi still has the loudest laugh and brightest smile. After losing a daughter and her husband, My Grandma is still as sharp as a tack and lights up when she's with her family, especially her ten (yes, TEN) great grandkids.

How do they keep going? Well, we take care of our elders in this family. I hear stories about some of my very distant relatives who don't keep in touch with their own parents and grandparents as they get older. And I truly don't understand it.

After all these two have done, how could we leave them on their own?

Like I mentioned earlier, my Mimi is only five minutes from my house. And my Grandma moved in with my aunt and uncle after my Grandpa passed away. These two have an army of a family who will do just about anything before letting them be on their own.

Dear reader, if you are able, please do me a favor. If you have grandparents or any older family members who are still around, give them a call. Send a text. If they live nearby, pop in and surprise them. Talk to them. Hug them. Just let them know you're there.

I can't imagine not having them in my life, especially now that I'm (sort of) an adult. Now that I have to do big girl stuff and make life decisions, I need their wisdom more than ever. I need my Mimi's tight hugs and never-ending prayers. I need my Grandma's numerous stories about what it means to work hard and how to sacrifice for your family.

After a hug and saying, "I love you, see you later," I pray it won't be the last.

Because I know you're both reading this, Mimi and Grandma... I may be good with words when it comes to writing, but I'm not the best at verbally communicating my feelings at times.

So please know I will never not need you two. I love you forever. I'll see you later.

My Mimi

My Grandma

valuesgrandparents
4

About the Creator

Alivia Varvel

time is the most precious commodity

https://www.aliviavarvel.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing with us about your Mimi and grandmother :) It's really great to hear they have an army of support around them, just as they providing an army's-worth of love and support for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.