Families logo

Neurotic Family Member Shares His Conspiracy Theories on Politics and COVID-19

How Dan brings laughter to our family gatherings

By Debbie CentenoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Tarik Haiga on Unsplash

This year has been chaotic for many people. Tensions are running high, a lot of anger everywhere, and to top it off, it's an election year. I'm not a person who knows a lot about politics, and I prefer to keep my political views to myself. I don't vote for any party. I prefer to study what each candidate has to offer and use my gut instinct to comply with my civil duty of voting, and that is about it. But what I've seen this year among family, friends, acquaintances, and strangers regarding politics and COVID-19 is just atrocious.

It's China's Fault!

At the beginning of the year, while at a family event and when COVID-19 was just surfacing its ugly face here in the United States (U.S.), a person in the event was talking about how almost everything in the U.S. was outsourced to China. This person, which I'll call Dan, berated China for the audacity of taking away American jobs!

"It's all China's fault that the U.S. is in the situation it is now!" he argued.

That statement stunned me a bit. I'm not a confrontational person, but I could not allow this ignorant family member to continue to make a fool out of himself, so I chimed my two-cents in.

"Hm, it's China's fault, huh?" I asked.

"Yes, we have no U.S. jobs and no good American-made products," he responded.

"So the Chinese came to the U.S. and told the Americans that the U.S. HAD to outsource all their goods and materials and the U.S. just complied. Is that what you're saying happened?" I asked.

"Not in that way, but sort of," he replied.

"Dan, it's not China's fault that all our goods are made in China and we have outsourced jobs. China did not force the U.S. to outsource jobs and/or production. China was smart enough to accept the deal keeping its people in the job force. Therefore, it's not their fault. It is our fault." I answered.

It was enough to calm him down and then he blurted, "Well, that's what I meant."

Well, Dan, you didn't do a good job explaining; I thought. 

Dan has no clue about anything and loves to argue about everything. It's this constant non-ending battle to be right always. Most of the time I let him believe what he wants, but sometimes it is just too painful to sit and watch.

United States Tactics Backfired

Another incident happened right after COVID-19 stopped us from our daily routines and the U.S. numbers were on a steep rise. This time he blamed the U.S. for the virus. Boy, did that make me laugh. The conversation went something like this.

"You know this virus stuff was a U.S. stunt to wreak havoc in China allowing us, the United States, to become the global power," he exclaimed. Laughter filled the room.

"Really, Dan. You realize that if that's the case, then it has backfired because the U.S. is fast approaching being the highest in cases and death globally." I said. Dan replied, "You guys do not understand what I'm saying."

"Well, explain it again. But it seems clear what you're saying," said another family member.

"Never mind," Dan exclaimed.

I don't know if it's the need to be the center of attention or what, but Dan does not hesitate to bring up things related to either politics or COVID-19. I don't mind that he does. I rarely pay attention to him, but he should do his research before jumping to conclusions.

Conspiracy to Ruin the Presidential Elections?

The latest argument was how the world conspired to ruin President Trumps' election. "You'll see, as soon as the elections are over, the COVID-19 will disappear," was Dan's new theory.

"Oh, come on, Dan. It's a global pandemic. Do you really think the entire world cares so much about the U.S. presidential elections that they would jeopardize their own people, country, and economy just to ruin the United States elections?" replied a family member.

"Yes, I do and know so to be true. Mark my words. It'll happen," Dan replied.

"Okay Dan, if you say so," answered the family member.

Other family members began laughing - some, not all - at Dan's occurrences. There were more statements made by Dan like these, but I can't recall them all. I have to hand it to Dan, though. He can be funny sometimes. Bless his soul. I wonder what he'll come up with next.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.