Families logo

Nesting Project

The first toy I made for my child

By CJ SheltonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Nesting is an interesting side effect of pregnancy. Like the birds of the animal kingdom humans must prepare their nest. We need the crib to be placed just right and the clothes organized. Everything must be clean. Things must be acquired or made. We must be ready.

For me a lot of nesting is creating things for my child. It made perfect sense as I have always been a creative type. It started early, before I knew what gender I was having. I searched for ideas of what to make my baby. Pinterest led me to a fabric ball, among other things. An interesting concept. Then I found superhero fabric in a bundle. It was perfect.

I created a pattern out of paper. It took a few tries before I got it just right. Then I grabbed my fabric scissors and cut out my pentagons. It was early in the pregnancy so I took my time hand sewing it. I could have used a machine. But I wanted to take my time. This was the first item I was creating for my baby. Each stitch was created with love.

With each in and out I thought about the little life that was growing inside me. What would they be like? Would they look like their dad? Would he like sports? Music? What would their favorite animal be? Their favorite color? Would they even like superheroes?

I sewed each pentagon together, taking care of where each pattern was placed. I wanted to make sure the same patterns didn't touch. Wonder Woman was not to be next to another Wonder Woman. I spent hours with my project, loving every second. Soon I had one edge left. I flipped it right side out.

Before I stuffed it one more thing was needed., a rattle. I spent 75 cents at a vending machine so I could get a plastic container. I don't even remember what I bought. I added beads and tested it until I was pleased with the sound. Then I glued it shut. All that was left was adding the rattle and some stuffing then sewing it closed.

I was so happy when it was done. I was excited for my child to play with it. This little human that was growing in my stomach was going to play with the toy I made them. I'm not sure how to describe that joy.

Months past and I would smile when I saw that ball. Even as I made his mobile, a blanket, some more toys I loved that first toy I made him. Then October came and I went into labor.

It was a little boy. He looks so much like his Daddy. He makes us laugh. He's always on the go. The ball was pulled out a few times but didn't really catch his interest. It didn't matter. Babies change so much in the first year. One moment they're struggling to roll over, then the next they're pulling themselves up on everything. I knew one day he would play with it.

That day was yesterday. I was switching some toys around and I pulled it out. The second I dropped it he made a beeline. Such an interesting toy! I laughed as he rolled it around and crawled after it. He pushed his face into it and then looked up to smile at me. We rolled it back and forth to each other. All that work had paid off.

My joy could not be contained. This little baby was so happy with something I created, with some fabric, some stuffing, and scissors.

diy
1

About the Creator

CJ Shelton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.