Families logo

Neighbors (Chapter 1)

Chapter 1

By Nikki KattamuriPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Henry and I moved into a small town. A nice neighborhood and a nice house. I was a single mother with a two-year-old son. Henry's father had died in a car accident when he was just a baby. Henry doesn't remember him at all.

I finished unpacking and set the house how we both liked it. Few of my closest friends husbands came by and helped me move the furniture in and paint the walls.

Henry's room was a baby sky blue color with white clouds. He has a small book shelf in the corner with a rug. He called it his 'reading corner'. A closet across his superhero bed. And right under the window was a chest. A treasure chest with all of his toys.

"Me wike woom mammy," Henry smiled. "Wank wo."

"Anytime kid." I smiled back.

My room was a lavender purple color with flowers painted on it. I had a computer table in the corner next to the window. My queen sized bed across the closet.

It was perfect. Henry was happy, I was happy. We thanked the men and they left.

My neighbors doors opened. A tall handsome man with dark hair dressed in all black walked out on one side and on the other, another man slightly less handsome with dark brown hair walked out. They both looked mad. Both had beer bottles in their hands.

"Killian Jones you ruined my car!" Neal yelled.

"Hey you keyed mine first mate!" Killian yelled back.

They both walked into my lawn standing a few feet away from each other.

I watched them from my porch. The one named Killian looked over and saw me.

"My lady. Didn't know someone had moved in."

I smiled. He was such a gentleman. "We just moved in." I walked over to him. "The name's Emma. Emma Swan."

"Killian Jones."

"I'm Neal by the way." Neal walked over to us.

"Nice to meet you both." I smiled.

Henry ran out of the house. "Mammy me wan't wind Pinky." He looked sad and was close to crying.

"Check the car kid," I told him.

Henry ran to the car and found Pinky. It was a stuffed animal pig. He couldn't sleep without it. His father had given it to him when he was born.

"You have a son," Neal pointed out.

"You married love?" Killian asked.

"Yes. Well not anymore. My husband died in a car accident when our son was just a baby. It's just been the two of us since."

"Sorry to hear that." Neal looked down.

"No worries."

Henry ran toward us. "Me wound Pinky!"

"Hi." Killian got down on a knee to Henry's level.

"Hewwo." Henry hid behind me. Killian was scaring him.

"Come on lad, I won't hurt you." Killian smiled.

Henry slowly walked towards him. "Pwomise?"

"Promise."

Neal felt so awkward. "So Emma, why move here?"

"My old house reminded me of my husband too much. Plus it was too big just for the two of us."

"Oh." He nodded. "Do you want to come for dinner?"

Was this a date? Or was he just being nice? I didn't know how to answer. "Maybe another time. I still need to unpack."

Neal nodded. "Okay."

Killian was angry. He liked me. I knew he did. I liked him too. He played with Henry.

I smiled. Killian was so good with Henry.

"He my new papa?" Henry asked.

I blushed.

Killian laughed. "Don't think so lad. Do you want me to be your papa?"

Henry nodded. "Papa."

Killian looked at me and I looked at him back.

Henry was starting to like him.

And so was I.

Neal was falling for me. I know he was. I liked him but not as anything more than just a friend.

Moving here was probably a good decision. Henry was happy with Killian around and so was I.

I loved it here and I knew Henry did too.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Nikki Kattamuri

Nikki is a Psychology major with a Criminal Justice minor at the University of Cincinnati. Her hobbies include reading, watching Netflix, writing and hanging out with friends. She like to write in a variety of topics. Happy Reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.