Families logo

My Struggle with Teen Pregnancy

Skipping periods may have been the only good thing to happen.

By L. WelchPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Finding Out

I found out I was pregnant. It was at the doctor's office and I didn't even physically see that I was pregnant, I was only told. I was supposed to be getting a new form of birth control, which would have been the implant, and I was not looking forward to it. My grandmother was devastated upon finding out because I was only six days away from turning seventeen and I had been in my senior year, so I was thinking about colleges and work. She called my grandfather and he didn't even want to talk to me. I had to tell my stepdad at the house, whom I was living with due to the recent passing of my mother. His reaction was one I never wanted to hear. He was the one to argue and belittle everyone but himself. Claiming it didn't happen on his watch, my boyfriend didn't even have a job, I was going places, etc. Everyone besides my stepdad and my boyfriend's mother had pushed abortion every day until I made up my mind.

My Final Decision

I wanted to keep this baby. After talks with my boyfriend and finally coming to this life-changing decision, I ended up having to tell my stepfather and he had given me thirty days to leave the house, claiming that's what my mother had told him to do before she died if I got pregnant, and let's face it, I knew my mother more than he ever would but I let it slide. I told my boyfriend and his mom let me move in. My stepdad had closed my bank account and shut off my phone, reporting it as lost or stolen and sent me a lengthy message, detailing how I had abandoned my family and disowned my mother on her deathbed. I felt like nothing would ever be the way it used to and I had no one to talk to.

Moving In

That was completely different. At first, I had to deal with his little brother sleeping in the same room. So, that, for one, showed me there was no room for this future child. Having to go from just one sibling to him having three, the house was foreign to what I was used to. I had, over the course of days, gathered my clothes and a fabulous plastic container that I will never part with. The hardest part though was not being able to see my sister. I no longer had my best friend, sure I had my boyfriend but, my five-year-old sister has never talked back to me. Getting a new phone plan was harder because I had to call my grandfather to ask if he could take off what my stepfather put as reported lost or stolen, which will be the most help I receive in a while.

Loss

Due to all of the stress that was put upon me, I started bleeding. It was very slight at first and stopped every night I had gone to sleep, but eventually it had lasted through the night. The very first ultrasound I had, I couldn't even keep the pictures because they already knew, there was no heartbeat. As of now, all I have is the memory and never had any actual physical things to remember by no test or ultrasound pictures, which I think is why I've had such a tough time grasping onto anything. I had a miscarriage. On October 6th. Ever since then I hardly wanted anything to do with anyone. I barely had anyone anyways, but I was always a person who kept everything to themselves. The pain of the miscarriage itself was unbearable, but the pain after it was just as bad.

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.