Families logo

My Sister's Flip

How God saved a teenager after being flipped by a cow

By Jessica R AlagnaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
After the accident

I had just finished the book.....amazing story! Was it a true story? I had to find out, so I looked it up online and sure enough! The story was written from the perspective of the founder. It was a true story about her life and how she came to do what she had always been passionate about. I wanted to go. I thought about how much fun it would be to go and even more so, how much fun it would be to take my sister. Our love for animals was so similar. I thought about it and realized her thirteenth birthday would be coming up in a few months. What a better present than to visit a non profit animal sanctuary.

For my sister's birthday, I paid flight and hotel expenses for myself, her, and our mom. We flew out there, stayed in a nice hotel, and had a full vacation planned out. The day we were to visit the animals, we got up like any other day expecting nothing but to have a wonderful time. At the barn, we were able to cuddle with all sorts of animals-pigs, turkeys, cows, horses, llamas, and more. We got to hear about so many stories and how the animals came to be at that particular barn. I paid for us to spend the entire day there, even having lunch with the founder/writer of the book.

After lunch, we went to the other property they own to see more animals. I'll never forget this particular moment. We were in with the cows-myself, my sister, the founder, and an assistant. We had been talking and all of a sudden I looked up, and saw my sister being grabbed by one of the cow's horns. I saw the cow flip her over it's head. and come down on her head. From the minute I saw it start, I started praying to God "don't let her die, please help her be ok". She started crying and bleeding all over her face. It was the worst thing I had ever seen in my life. My baby sister, 15 years younger than me, had been flipped by a cow.

I went up to her and asked if she were ok (silly question, I know). She continued crying and shook her head no. The founder even followed with "no, she's not ok". We all walked into the barn to get her cleaned up. She was crying in pain, and I stood there for a few minutes. Then I ran out because I couldn't be in there. I wanted to. but how could I be in there if I couldn't take her pain away? I went outside and called my mom. I told her she needs to come right now and explained what happened.

My mom got there probably within twenty minutes, although it felt like hours. As soon as she walked in, I ran to her and started crying. I had felt so horrible. I felt like I should have protected her, like I should have stopped the accident from happening. My mom hugged me and explained to my sister, "she's not crying because you're not ok; you are ok".

After my sister was cleaned up, we went in the car with my mom. My sister started complaining of her upper body hurting. This was the first time any of us thought of it....head trauma. We need to get her to the hospital. We went to the police station so things could be handled the right way. They would know how to take her and what parts of her body to touch and not to touch. My mom and sister went in the back with my sister in the gurney and a policeman with them. I sat in the front with the other policeman. I kept asking him, is she going to be ok? I was so worried. I would never forgive myself if she didn't survive this.

We got to the hospital, got her some medicine, had cat scans done, etc. Everything was ok. They gave my sister some cream medicine to put on her face to help it heal, and a sling for her arm. We went back to the hotel for the night. Throughout the night, my sister would cry of pain and have to be given the cream medicine.

Even after we got home, the medicine continued for a while. She would cry of pain each time and each time I would feel so bad for her and wish I could take her pain. I would have come from where ever I had been to be with her because she wanted "sissy's hand" to hold. Even then, I didn't understand how she did not partly blame me for the accident, for not protecting her. I still have not forgiven myself even though I know there is nothing I could have done.

Today, my sister is a healthy 16-year-old who enjoys hanging with her friends, watching horror movies, listening to music, and yes...she still enjoys being with animals. She has nothing from the accident except a small scratch below her eye. She is about to start her junior year of high school and each day I am thankful that God answered my pray.

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.