Families logo

My sister is a true inspiration

My Sister is my Rock

By Ceri-Jayne HawleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Me and my big sister

My mother and I went through life threatening ordeal when she gave birth to me after five days labor. My mother had one chance of a million to live after losing so much blood.

I was a premature baby, weighing 4 lbs and eventually died but the nurse would not give up on me and revived me and I was born Deaf with many other inner problems. After five months in the hospital, I grew strong and was healthy enough to be back into my mother’s arm.

At age of three to six years old I would get on a plane to fly down to where Caville my sister stays at the coast each weekend. Upon my flight back on the plane I was heartbroken as I did not want be apart from her. The flight attendant and the pilot consoled me by letting me sit on pilot lap and also treated me with small toy plane also a colouring books.

My sister Caville was loving strong sister, who took me into her home at age of eight with her new born baby, my niece. She had the time to treat me or protect me or provided me fairly. She would teach me to repeat after her “ I lay me down to sleep....” “ Twinkle Twinkle little star” or even let me feel the bass on her speaker she played the lp recorder “ there was an old lady who swallowed a fly...” to include me with her children growing up.

There were also times she would correct my mispronunciations in words I would talk to her and immediately she would show me how to pronounce the word correctly that is how I learned to memorize each words in our daily conversations to today.

She informs me of families ongoing conversations so I can be included.

When I was nine years old . I was in a Deaf school swimming team to swim leagues against the hearing school which was big thing for me. The pool was an Olympic size for a nine year old. The negativity thoughts I had was when I was watching the team next to ours singing the war cry clapping their hands, stamping their feet and seeing their swimmer swim faster and won their race, makes me feel in despair.

I was called down for my one row swim to race against hearing swimmers and did not want to swim. My spectator who is my sister, she came down toward me and ask me “What is the matter?” I replied, “I cannot swim fast”. She said, “why not?” I looked up to her and said” Because Hearing people are clever they can hear and can swim faster than me.” My sister’s final response was ”Do you have to swim with your ears or your arms?” I said, “My arms” “Well”, she said, “come on, you can swim hard with your arms, not your ears?” My race came with gunshot all I see is smoke here I go with my big dive and swum with my arms as hard as I could and guess what I won this race by two seconds! A great advice from my big sister who could bring positively and told me to put on Rhino skin whoever hurts me so to wipe it off my shoulders.

My sister is my rock and What great love a sister I could ask for.

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.