Families logo

My Promise to My Daughter

You will always come first.

By Amanda VadeboncoeurPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Oh my little one, how time does fly. Where you once were smaller than my chest you now fill my torso with your snuggles. You reach up to gently touch my face and it melts my heart. From waking every two hours to sometimes sleeping through the night. You, my little baby, have grown so quickly and yet have so much more growing to do. Time is going way too quickly and oh how I wish could slow it down or even rewind and replay it sometimes.

So this I promise you, my little baby. I will always have time for you. I will always give you that hug you need or the snuggles you want. I will put down my phone and turn off the TV. You will have my undivided attention as much as possible. I will make time for you in between the loads of laundry and piles of dishes. I will make room for you in my bed when you need those middle of the night snuggles and early morning ones too. I promise not to use the TV as a babysitter so I can get that one thing done. Because one day you will no longer need that hug or want those snuggles. One day you won't want to hold my hand and one day you will no longer crawl into bed with me. So I will read that extra story and rock you just a little longer, because one day you won't want those things anymore. Time goes by so quickly and tomorrow isn't promised. Today you want to rock and snuggle, soon you'll be running around doing your own thing.

I promise to invest my time in you. I will let you help me in the kitchen even if it means that there will be a mess. I promise to read to you every day. I promise to play with you even if I have chores that need to get done. They can wait just a little bit longer, for you will only be this small once. I will run through the sprinkler with you in the heat of the summer and cuddle you in the cold of the winter. Nothing, I repeat nothing is more important than you, my baby.

I promise you that I will be there when you are sick, when you are hurt, when you are happy, and when you are sad. I will be there to praise you in your accomplishments and help you learn from your failures. I will let you spread your wings and fly but I will be here to catch you when you fall. You will fall, my Dear but you will not fail. You will learn from your mistakes and try again. I promise to be there every step of the way.

I promise you this, my little baby. I promise to teach you your worth. To show you just how smart you are, how long and gentle you can be. I will teach you to be compassionate and understanding. I will teach you about diversity. I will teach you how to be independent. I will teach you how to be beautiful from the inside out. For you, my daughter were born beautiful, as is every human. To be raised on beauty alone is to be weak, and you are very strong. Raising you on beauty alone would starve of you of the knowledge of life and make you dependent on someone always telling you and reassuring you of your beauty. You, my daughter, are so much more than your beauty and knowing your worth is much more important. I promise to guide you through the rough waters of life and help you climb those mountains that may seem impossible.

I promise you this, my little baby. I want to capture every possible moment with you in my mind and memories. For you will only be so small for just a little while. These years will go so quickly but I will be your safe place. I will be your comfort and rock. I will always listen to what you have to say and I will be supportive of your decisions as you grow and learn. I will be your biggest fan and your number one supporter. I will always be here for you no matter what the circumstances.

children
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Vadeboncoeur

I am a 32 year old single mother. I work a full time job to support myself and my daughter. I love writing so in my free time ( which is almost none) that's what I do!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.