Families logo

My library Gift

Home library

By Brandon FonchaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

My home library has always been one of my favorite places in the world. There's something comforting about being surrounded by books, each with its own story and its own place in the world. And over the years, my library has grown to encompass everything from classic literature to beloved childhood favorites to obscure works of nonfiction that I've stumbled across in used bookstores.

One of the things that I love about my library is that each book tells a story in more ways than one. There are the stories contained within the pages, of course - the tales of adventure, romance, mystery, and more. But there are also the stories of how each book came to be a part of my collection.

Some I've inherited from family members or borrowed from friends and never returned. Others I've picked up in used bookstores or at garage sales, drawn to the quirky or unusual titles. And still others have been gifts from family and friends, each one a token of their love and appreciation.

One such gift is a book that I treasure above all others. It's an old, leather-bound volume of poetry, weathered and worn with age. The pages are yellowed and the binding is frayed, but the words inside are as beautiful as the day they were written.

The book was a gift from my grandmother, who passed away several years ago. She knew how much I loved books and knew that I was particularly fond of poetry. And so, one day, she surprised me with this beautiful, tattered volume.

I remember the day she gave it to me vividly. I was visiting her at her home by the sea, and we were sitting in her cozy living room, chatting and sipping tea. All of a sudden, she got up and disappeared into the back of the house. When she returned, she had the book in her hands.

"I found this in my attic," she said, placing it gently in my lap. "I think you'll appreciate it."

I was touched by her gesture and immediately opened the book to examine it. Inside the cover, there was an inscription that read, "To my dearest Margaret, on our wedding day - June 15, 1953."

I asked my grandmother about the inscription, and she told me the story of how the book came to be a part of her family's collection. Apparently, it had been a wedding gift to my grandmother's parents, given to them by a family friend who was a well-known poet at the time. My grandmother had grown up reading the book and had always treasured it, but eventually, it had gotten lost in her family's many moves and changes.

When she found it in her attic, she knew immediately that she wanted to give it to me. "I knew you would take care of it," she said, her eyes twinkling.

And so the book became a part of my collection, taking its place on the shelf alongside so many others. Over the years, I've read and reread its pages, marveling at the elegant turn of phrase and the timeless beauty of the words.

But what makes the book truly special to me is the story behind it. It's a reminder of my grandmother's love and generosity, and of the connection between past and present. Whenever I see it on my shelf, I'm transported back to that sunny afternoon by the sea, sitting with my grandmother as she handed me the book that would become such an important part of my life.

Of course, there are plenty of other books in my library that have similar stories behind them - volumes given to me by friends who knew just the right book to recommend, or books that I picked up in a moment of serendipity and that have become instant favorites. Each one is a little piece of my history, a symbol of some aspect of myself or my relationships with others.

There's something magical about a home library, I think - a sense that you're surrounded by an entire world of ideas, stories, and possibilities. And for me, the gifts that are housed within my collection make it all the more special. Each one is a reminder of the many people who have touched my life, and of the ways that books can help us forge connections across time, space, and generations.

artfact or fictionbook reviews
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.