Families logo

My Hometown Legacy

The place that not only built me, but created a legacy for me and my children

By Always Amy XOXOPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
My Hometown of Cudahy

Just like everyone else, their hometown has special meaning to them, for me…it is and always will be my heart and soul. It is not only where my whole existence started but where my family legacy will always be. You see, my mother made history in our small town. She ran for political office and became the first woman to become a city official in our town and actually made the Congressional Records when she passed away.

When I take you on this tour, I hope that you will be able to not only see the love I have through my eyes in the pictures, but to FEEL it. This is not just my hometown to me, but since most of my family passed away, it is my legacy.

As our drive begins, you will see one of the main staples, which in another time, would have been Ladish Company. You can still see the faded letters spelling on their smokestack…the only sign that this company existed. My Dad and Grandfather worked at this company for years. We lived a few blocks away from Ladish, so the memory of my Dad walking home with his lunchbox is really vivid in my mind as we drive through the city.

Across the street from Ladish is Packard Plaza. This has undergone a lot of changes, but I can still see the stores that founded this little shopping area, where stores like Gimbels and JC Penny’s had homes at one time. McDonald’s, which definitely did not have a drive-thru when I was growing up was also in this parking lot. It was where I spent A LOT of my Middle School years after dances and football games. They would also have a big festival in the parking lot during the summer, this is one of my favorite memories, as I loved going there with my friends and going on dates there where they would win me a stuffed animal from one of the games and I would feel like I would keep that forever and ever. The innocence of first dates.

Close to Packard Plaza is one of my VERY FAVORITE places, Pulaski Park. This Park was about 3 or 4 blocks from my house growing up, so I spent a LOT of time here. This is a smaller park, but it has SO many memories here. One of my most favorite is the playground. My mom actually once she took political office organized and implemented a new playground set here. She was very big on family and children so this would be a crucial piece for our city. They also have a wading pool here, which I can tell you was one of the most amazing places to take my children to. They absolutely loved it.

As we continue to drive, we go past my old elementary schools and also my children’s school as well. How many people can say that their children had the same principal they did, when they were little? Koscziuszko Elementary School was rebuilt and I was so glad they did do that. When the school was closed and they were voting on rebuilding it, I was so happy. My children were able to experience some of my history and also…to go to the candy store across the street from the school…I mean, how LUCKY is that? The candy store Adamczyk’s was THE PLACE to go after school. Even years later when my kids would go after school, they still had the penny candy. Sigh, that is a piece of our hometown that hopefully you can FEEL how important this was. They don’t make places like that anymore.

The block I lived on, Underwood Avenue still has the funeral home sign up at the end of the block, so you can always remember which block it is, at least that was my go-to directions for visitors. As you drive down the block, memories of attending Holy Family Church come on really strong. This is where I went to school when I was little, where my parents were married, where my children were baptized, and ultimately where my parents’ funeral was held. Going down this block, I start to tear up a little bit as my home…The house that built me is coming into view. One will always know what house it was, as my Dad made the porch railing himself, designing a letter M for each side, which represented the first letter of our last name. This home has changed so much since my parent’s passed away, however, every time I see it….it brings me back to the days when I played in our backyard or used sidewalk chalk on the front. It reminds me that my Grandma and Grandpa’s house was right across our alley, so I always had my grandparents to help me if I ever needed someone.

Some of the best places, in times gone by as I slowly make my way through my hometown are Pulaski Inn, this was a place and still is where everyone gathers. Wedding Receptions, Birthday Dinners, Funeral Brunches, Holiday Parties…this is the place that did it all and placed so many memories on the citizen’s hearts. Not only is the food home cooked, but this was the place where everyone knew you and your family. The gathering place.

Down the road is now a hotel and restaurant, called Sheridan’s. To me, it was always known as Fountain Blue. It was the place that I would walk to, to get my mom her Czarnina, a polish soup. It is where we would celebrate a fancy dinner. Now it is an upscale Bed and Breakfast, continuing the tradition of bringing upscale to our little city.

As we drive down one of the main roads, Lake Drive, you will see City Hall, a place where my mom and our family spent a lot of time. Inside of there, houses all of the city health, city officials, police department. If you go inside, you will find pictures of my mom and the history of Cudahy’s politics.

You will the High school, lots and lots of memories here. I can still picture my first day as a freshman, so scared of the future but so excited. The day of my graduation, knowing I did it. I was now headed into adulthood. As we drive through here, so many memories flood my brain of walking down these sidewalks with friends, talking about all of the newest and latest trends and gossip.

Sheridan Park is next on my tour, it is where our City holds 4th of July activities, where my mom was in the parade as a city official, where we would end up at the end of the parade route. Our city had bands that played in the park, gave out ice cream, and had lots of games and fun activities going on. The 4th of July was extra special for my family, as it was my Mom’s Birthday as well. We would gather there to watch the fireworks at night. Once my children were born, the memories increased ten-fold as they were able to add decorating their bikes for the 4th of July Contests and also to be in the parade. This is a place also in the park where my children learned to play T-Ball and Soccer the first time. It is where our Veterans are honored as well, so this park has a rich history of my hometown, Cudahy.

As we travel on, we will pass by the Old Train Depot. This is where the History of Cudahy is stored. There are pictures inside of my uncle, who was a Police Captain and my Mom, who was the first Alderwoman in our city. It has so many memories and shows just how the town has grown.

One of the companies that have made Cudahy what it is, is now called Smithfield Foods, at one time it was called Patrick Cudahy. It is where they make the bacon and ham products and it is a large area of the city. They have been the main contributors for Sweet Applewood Days, an annual festival that brought all of the families together for food, games, and rides. Those were really FUN memories for my family and children.

I may tear up a little as we go by my Hometown Library. There was a new Library built in the late 90’s, and this is one of the places where my mom has a tree that we planted in her honor as a city official, when she passed away in 2000. You can imagine now, it has grown, just like the Library. This is a place that I took my children often to and had my Brownie Meetings at. It is a place that had reading programs and outreach programs at. It was and still is, a very important part of my hometown.

As we turn on to the main street in my hometown of Cudahy, Packard Avenue…you will see all of the shops and restaurants and just the overall elegance of this downtown area. As I look around, I can see vivid memories of my friends and I meeting here downtown, of the parades that were held down this road, of my children trick or treating, or taking walks in the summertime….taking all of this in and knowing that although this hometown of mine has changed, has taken its place in the future, to me…I will always see the little details of what it once was. Someday, when I have my grandchild sitting on my knee and we are talking, telling stories and laughing, I will be able to tell him or her of the legacy and history of my Hometown through my eyes.

travel
1

About the Creator

Always Amy XOXO

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.