Families logo

My Gramma's Scissors

O the stories they could tell!

By Jen GoodwinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Blessings From My Grandmother

Hi My Name, is Jen and I was blessed to have a Grandma who could create almost anything. She was an Antique dealer and had a great respect for things in a way that taught me to do the same. Her creativity and talents were many, from making me cloths, treats, Big Quilted Blankets to Chocolate covered pretzels (my fav). She was also an incredible letter writer an art all its own. She was a true gift to those around her.

There were so many things I wish I had told her while she was alive. Like how much it meant to me to receive such creations made with love. I know even more now the love and time she must have spent on each gift she gave me. She even would make my friends and I matching outfits. Her home was filled with fabrics and wrapping papers that I loved to look at and wonder what she would create with them. She would turn flannels into blankets of love and comfort. She we turn fun fabrics into beautiful dresses. She would turn yarn into warmth and coziness. She would turn papers into such pretty presents you hardly wanted to open them. well almost!! She would turn ingredients into the most delicious treats and meals. She would repurpose, recycle, and renew before it ever carried those names. I learned so much by watching her, learning from her and being loved by her.

As I teen I became extremely Ill and, in the years to follow, crafting became my joy. I truly did learn Create my own happiness. When others could go here and there my achievements were my creations. I would paint, paper craft, sew (not very well). Build, sculpt, design, recycle, reuse in new ways items to create with. I do not think there is a form of crafting I have not tried from beading to cross stitch.

At 18 I lost my Gramma, and I wish she knew how much I learned from her. I learned to fix things rather than throw them out. I learned that homemade gifts are filled with such love that nothing compares to them. I learned that you could take one thing and turn it into something new. Or take something old and care for it so that it lasts. I learned so many things from my Grandmothers talents and love. My Love of crafting has only grown through out my life. It has been my saving grace.

When the house was being cleared out years later after My Grandfather passed. I was blessed to get my Grammas scissors and some of the fabrics she had that were waiting for creations. My Grandmother took care of things and taught me to take care of things too. From objects to people. To care for them with love. These heavy metal scissors have seen many crafts from her beautiful hands to mine. They have been sharpened many times and hold the magic of each creation they took part in. There are projects I know from the start I need to pull out my Grammas scissors for. And I feel her love blessing them even now. O the stories they could tell.

I hope she knows the depth of the impact every single creation she made touched my heart. How creativity and all the blessings it brings to not only the creator but those touched by the creations is one of my greatest joys. Creativity, Crafting, Designing, saved me by bringing joy to a girl that could not fully be out in the world. But her Creations can!!! Thank You Gramma for your gifted, guiding hands.

grandparents
1

About the Creator

Jen Goodwin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.