Families logo

My Favorite Place

Where everything has a meaning

By Skittlez SneedPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

There is no speed control on the recliner so I have to gradually lay back into a comfortable position. Until I get to this place everything is a rush, hurry and go from here to there and quickly do that. The sound of the recliner slowly taking pressure off of every aching part of my body is like a lullaby to my thoughts. By the time it reclines completely, my thoughts are at rest and the worries of the day have almost disappeared. I close my eyes just for a few second and I am transformed from a world filled with worry and stress to my own world of no worries. Each element in this space has its own story.

The first thing that stands out is the television. The television is one of the most up to date with many features that most would brag about but that is not why it stands out to me. I purchased it with money from people on social media. Each dollar had a story that touched me. It started the morning of my birthday I made a post on social media saying “Thank God for allowing me to make it to see another birthday.” Then I jokingly put my cashapp tag but never expecting a dime. I didnt get a dime, I actually got a little over three hundred dollars. The best thing wasn’t the amount though, it was the messages I received from the people that sent the money. For years, I had always gone out of my way to help people never expecting anything in return. These kind words were bringing tears to my eyes. Every word I read restored my faith in humanity.

Then there’s the fireplace and its story. I am a single mother of three and had been that way since I was a teenager. Each and every passing day for the past twenty-three years, the question of my parenting skills had lingered in the back of my mind. I am sure most parents have that same question but mine was answered with this very fireplace. I never buy myself expensive fancy things. I look in magazines and say one day after the girls are grown I’m gonna buy these things. Well, they are not grown so I refused to buy this fireplace even though I wanted it so bad. And at this point I’m not sure if the girls are watching but I didn‘t want them to think it was alright to spend that much money on something when you had kids to feed. Well they were watching. The older two went and bought the fireplace and reminded me of all things I had sacraficed for them and now it was their turn to do for me. The first thing I put on the fireplace was a small jar that simply says “reasons to be grateful”.

Now to explain the beautiful color of the room. As I said I am the mother of three beautiful daughters. Only two purchased the fireplace, because they are both employed. Well my younger one doesn’t have a job so I really didn‘t expect a gift from her. I work six days a week and she normally stays home and is on her phone with her friends all day, typical teenager. So you can imagine how much it warmed my heart to come home and realize she had added the final touches to my room. Not only had she purchased lights to go around the room and television but she had also but down her phone and installed them as well. They are controlled by remote and change colors but I normally keep them set on blue, becasue that‘s her favorite color and it matches my recliner lights.

This room is not only my favorite place becasue of its physical beauty, it is my favorite place because of the many meaningful messages it represent. Answered questions for a parent, restoration of faith in humanity, a reminder of gratitude and most importantly a representation of unconditional love.

children
1

About the Creator

Skittlez Sneed

I am a single 40+ mother of three that has kept her dreams on hold for too long

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.