Families logo

My Dearest Friend

As her daughter I give her thanks as a friend I lift her up. The woman who raised me

By Kristina SteffyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

My dear mother, you went through a lot. Life was hard and you felt like giving up. I don’t remember a time when you and dad were together. I was only three when you split up. Right when you wanted to give up, you found God. You found the truth and turned your life around for the better. Even though life wasn’t always the best living with you, I have learned a lot. You gave it your all, trying to teach your children the right way. It didn’t go as planned, but you tried the best you could alone.

You had your moments, your yells, and your cries. Us kids just loved to get on your nerves. But as much as you yelled and hollered you still loved us so much and wouldn’t trade it for the world. You taught us responsibility, and tried to take us to the right path of life. You and my oldest sister had some falling outs when she moved out at 16. I tried my best to stay strong for you. I knew it hurt you to have her leave and live with dad. I was still very young and didn’t know why she got so mad with you. It made no sense to me. But we got through together and things are much better now. But that’s how teenage kids can be, right? We all get our rebellious side. Rather it’s a strong rebellion or just a light one.

When I became the same age as her, I started to feel the same way. Of course I had my crushes but until I got 15 I wanted to date .There were three crushes that you knew about, and helped me choose the right one. So I began to like a few boys, and I felt like you were to controlling. But you just wanted me to be careful. You were very picky about the guys I liked and wanted to make sure he would be a good guy. One of the “Guys” I liked you saw that he had anger issues and if I ever would date him you wanted to see that change first. Soon admitted I liked him to you after a Youth camp meeting I went to. Nothing really became of it though and that same year I met another guy. I met this one when I was with my dad. You didn’t like him at all. I tried to keep it a secret but… You found out anyways… I began to get rebellious… I wanted to be with my dad more so I could hang with this guy. You started to get suspicious, and tried to keep me from getting hurt. Then the very next year the very same camp meeting I met another guy. I was deeply in love with this one. I told you just a few days after the camp that I liked him. You set down the rules and I was unhappy with them but I tried to obey. You didn’t know this guy either but you knew he believed the same way as us. This guy lived far away and you didn’t allow us to text each other on my phone or call. We were only allowed to call on your phone. I was upset and I had my fits. He couldn’t visit at all unless his parents had the time and money to visit us. Though we was very young I just turn 16 and he 17. He was just starting to get his life going.

In between the times we were apart, we did end up texting each other without your knowing. While doing so he didn’t want me to get into trouble and it was hard not texting each other so he broke up with me. Not really sure if you know this but he broke up with me quite a few times (I lost count). I never wanted to tell you because if he wanted to get back together, I didn’t want you to give him trouble for braking up with me from the beginning. Our longest brake up was our first break up, it probably lasted a month or 2. I just talked to his sister hoping he get back with me. Then one Sunday his parents decided to visit and we got back together. After our first break up, the other break ups didn’t last but a week or even half a week… He started getting cold feet… Lol he kept going back and forth. His mom said he was scared of love but yet he was so love sick for me... But it didn’t last long obviously because he is now my husband! We are very happy! I am so very happy I followed my true heart to him.

I say all of that because even though you gave me such trouble I understand you were just trying to protect me. I also know that you didn’t want to lose your last daughter at home. Not only that but I also was only 15 when I started getting “lovey dovey.” Now I'm 23 and I live a few hours away and you barely see me. Life gets busy. When we do visit, we have a great time. I know it was my choice to move away and only being 3 hours away, but it’s still hard to visit when you need me or I need you. There were times you didn’t seem to know me, because I was the quiet child. But now that I moved away you seem to get me more. I feel like we can connect more than we ever did. Though I also know we connected quite a few times as well when I lived with you. You know how I truly feel, when I can’t make it for a family get together. That one time you called and all I could do was cry. You have been here for me this last year. I wasn’t able to open up as a girl but now that I am older I can open up a little more. When everyone was telling me off that we couldn’t make it to family gatherings, you were the one that comforted me as you heard me cry my eyes out. You were the one that told me it was ok and you understood. And even though I couldn't utter a word from crying you just listened and tried to comfort me as best as you could. You don't know how much that really meant to me. You being my mother is everything to me. I am so happy to have you as my mom. No one can make me feel anything different about you. Even though we had some tough talks together. I love you, and appreciate you so much! You are the reason I can stand strong for what I believe in.

Living in this world is tough, but always know you will always have me to come to. As I come to you. I believe you should move and live near us to get away from that stressful city. It did me wonders! Then we could party all the time! Lol

I love you mom. I pray that you can continue to have the strength to go on. I know you have been struggling mentally and physically. I can’t wait to visit you again and give you a good few laughs. Keep fighting a good fight! Keep pressing on, and call me whenever you need me! If I could I would pay all your debt and bills so you can rest and focus on a peaceful life. It’s been so tough for you, and all I want is for you to be able to focus on your health, and feel healthy.

Love your Daughter

feature
1

About the Creator

Kristina Steffy

Writing is my passion. I try to put my all into each and every story. I love to either give advice, make someone laugh, or even a heart felt discussion. I write as if I was talking to you face to face. I hope you enjoy reading my Stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.