Families logo

My dear nephew,

Welcome to breathing!

By Jessica FreebornPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My dear nephew,
Photo by Mary Jane Duford on Unsplash

My dear nephew,

I celebrated becoming an aunt when I found out my sister was pregnant with you. I was excited about what the future would hold. As the day of meeting you face to face came closer, my anticipation continued to build. You came five days after your due date, so I might have been a bit on edge with the waiting.

When I first held you, I felt overjoyed. I realized in that moment I was ready to take on the world if it meant protecting you. That's what family does.

I looked out the window on the cool fall day outside. My sister was watching the Bills game while I took a moment to hold you. It was all so exciting, so new.

You've been breathing and seeing daylight for almost two weeks now. Somehow, I've found ways to visit a lot. I even braved Wal-Mart on a Saturday to pick up a few things for your mom.

I've found it's comfortable to hold you in my right arm, resting on a pillow for a bit of extra support. That leaves my left hand free to hold the book. Yes, I figured we should start with the chapter books while you don't care about seeing the pictures. I'm sure you're picturing the story in your head.

We've started The Magician's Nephew, so chronological order it is. Once we've finished the series, we'll probably start in on The Hobbit, but I haven't decided just yet.

I can't help but wonder what you'll be like. Of course, everyone in the family has their ideas and knows what activities and interests they want to encourage. I'm no exception. Of course, I want you to love books, maybe even writing, but let's start with books.

What will your favorite color be? Will fall be your favorite season? Will you love to play outside?

Will you take up dancing like your mom, or will you be a baseball player like your dad? Will you do both? Your uncle made a joke the other day that you're going to do something off the wall, like fencing or tennis, something no one in the family has ever done. Obviously, I'd love for you to take karate, but I didn't discover my karate passion until the age of fifteen, so I figure there's time for that.

I can't wait to spend time with you and be there for the special milestones in your life. You're going to learn how to walk, talk, and sing. Next thing I know, you'll be off taking long runs with your dad and learning how to drive.

We're going to have so much fun. This is a great area to live in, with beautiful views and lots of open space. We'll be able to go apple picking together and go for long bike rides. I hope that we'll spend lots of time together and that those times are full of wonder and laughter. I am thankful that I get to be in your life and watch you grow up.

There's so much to look forward to, but there's also so much to be thankful for right now. Getting to hold you and running out of words to describe how cute you are. All the fun baby outfits. Your beautiful eyes and smile. I'm going to enjoy these days as best I can because I know they'll go by fast.

But perhaps one of the things I'm so thankful for is that you get to grow up surrounded by so many people who love you. Your mom and dad, your grandparents, and your aunts and uncles are just the start. There are so many other family members and friends that are ready to be a part of your life too.

You are so loved, dear nephew. You truly are. And no matter what you decide to do, know that I will always love you. (But where was that book?) Welcome to breathing. Life can be crazy, but it has many great things. Here's to a bright future.

By Clay Banks on Unsplash

Thanks for reading. If you liked what you read, consider subscribing, leaving a heart, pledging, or giving a tip. Tipping is an awesome addition to my coffee fund.

If you would like to receive regular updates on my work, please email me at [email protected] and ask to be added to my email list.

You can also follow me on Medium.

children
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Freeborn

Passionate writer that is enthusiastic about writing engaging, compelling content. Excels in breaking down complex concepts into simple terms and connecting with readers through sharing stories and personal experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.