Families logo

My Colombian Family Thinks These 5 Things I Do Are WEIRD

Is it just me?

By sara burdickPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Colombian Family Thinks These 5 Things I Do Are WEIRD
Photo by Flavia Carpio on Unsplash

I eat a very small or no breakfast at all. I prefer tons of fruits with my breakfast also.

In Colombia, it is customary to eat a bigger breakfast. Usually containing eggs, arepa, coffee or hot chocolate, and quesito.

It depends on the region, but it is always big and involves eggs and an arepa.

My normal breakfast is oatmeal with fruit or just fruit, sometimes just coffee or tea. I typically do not eat that much in the morning.

By Margarita Zueva on Unsplash

I put my coffee in the freezer, it helps it stay fresher!

I got the funniest look the other day when I put it in the freezer!

What are you doing?? It was like I had two heads!

My boyfriend said you put it where the ice cream goes? I said more things go in here than ice cream!

Does anyone else do this?

I go barefoot around the house and in the garden.

I do not like to wear flip-flops or as they say chanclas! My boyfriend is appalled thinking that my feet are dirty.

I mean they probably are, but there are so many benefits to walking barefoot, especially in nature.

To be honest, I hate wearing shoes.

I prefer to eat a bigger dinner than lunch.

In Colombia, it is normal to have a big lunch, and breakfast, and a very little dinner. I am the opposite. I prefer to eat less during the day.

I would rather cook a big meal and night which is very weird to them. They will eat what I would normally have at lunch for dinner, and vice versa.

I feel so sluggish after I eat a huge breakfast and lunch, that I am not as productive.

Having this conversation with an older Colombian woman is not that easy, but I have to eat how my body feels best.

Laughing and making yumm noises when I eat.

Making noises when I eat and smiling a lot.

When I enjoy a meal, I make noises like ummmm, yummy or say “this is so good”, or in Colombia “muy Rico”.

I always get laughed at, not sure if it's because I do this, or if I am just weird in general.

I have also noticed when the 3 of us sit down for a meal. No one talks!

This is so bizarre because, in my family, we sit down for a meal. We all talk about our day, what we did. Random topics.

They eat in complete silence. Most of the time, maybe my family at home are just a bunch of loudmouths!

These are just a few. I will start keeping notes everytime I get a “you are doing what”!

What is something weird you do that no one else understands?

After living in Colombia for a year, these have gotten more normal for me. It was an adjustment for those of us who come from different cultures, but my favorite part of traveling is exploring other cultures.

Now when I am away from my new culture, I miss it. Things I once thought were weird, have become a part of me too. Do you ever think about the habits you have? Would they seem weird to someone looking in from the outside?

Have you ever experienced a new culture, did you fit in, or are you like me and it took time to adjust?

Remain curious, and see what happens.

travel
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.