Families logo

My Brother and Me

A younger brother learns of true love

By Richard FrohmPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Two Brothers and Best Friends

I still remember the day my older brother got to watch me. Our parents were going to our cousins' wedding. We assumed Betty Ann our regular sitter would be watching us.

At supper the night before, Johnny asked mom if he could watch me. At first, it looked like she may actually let Johnny watch me. Even our father was smiling. That had to mean they were going to let Johnny watch me.

Then a serious look came over her face. No doubt her mind was having flashbacks of the trouble we both seemed to get into.

“No, I don’t think so. What do you think John?”

Before our father even uttered a word. Johnny and I knew the answer would be “No.”

We already knew. If one said no, the other one would say the same thing.

Sure enough, our father said; “Boys, I agree with your mother.”

Well, case closed, end of the story, we were stuck with Betty Ann.

Friday afternoon as Johnny and I walked in from the side door. We heard mom on the phone frantically yelling, “Are you sure you are really sick? Well, I guess the flu would qualify as sick.”

When she hung up the phone. I asked her what was wrong.

“Betty Ann is sick, so we have no sitter.”

Johnny spoke up. “What about me?” We both knew we had her. What choice did mom have? They had to leave as soon as they dressed.

“Johnny you will have to watch your brother.”

“No, problem mom.”

I thought I died and went to heaven. Oh, what fun the two of us would have. Mom told us to wash up for supper. We went into the bathroom and as we were washing our hands. I kept telling Johnny of all the things we could do with mom and dad gone.

Oddly, Johnny was not joining in on my ideas. In fact, when we sat down for supper. He was acting like an adult. He told mom and dad. “Yes, mom I will keep an eye on Brendan. No, I won’t let him stay up past eleven. Yes, mom no sodas for him. Brendan does get hyper when he has a soda.”

I could not believe what I was hearing. What had happened to Johnny? Did he fall and hit his head? Maybe it wasn’t really Johnny? It was an alien posing as Johnny.

When I walked into the kitchen mom was giving Johnny his final instructions. She gave him a hug and kiss and turned towards me.

“Now your father and I expect you to behave and listen to your brother.”

Well, I picked that precise moment to say; “Oh, you mean the brother that snuck out with his buddies, at one in the morning, soaping windows and toilet papering houses in the neighborhood. When they were supposed to be camping out in Benoit’s backyard. The same brother, that blew up our garbage can when he set off an M80 firecracker and told dad and you, he had no idea who did it”

I was not exactly sure who was madder at me, my mom or Johnny. All I remember was my mother saying, “Brendan, you had better listen to your brother or your father will use his belt on your butt. As for you John Michael O’Grady.”

Oh no, mom used Johnny’s full name. We both knew when mom used our full names, we were in deep trouble.

“Your father and I will deal with both of you tomorrow.”

Dad shouted through the screen door. “Sweetie, we have to get going or we will miss your brother walking his daughter down the aisle. I have money on him being so drunk, Annie will be holding him up.”

Johnny and I started laughing. Our Uncle Tim liked his Irish whiskey, a lot.

Mom just shook her head, “John Michael O’Grady Senior. I will have enough of that, do I need to mention your bother Sean, that lives at the racetrack.”

Mom kissed us and headed out to the car. Now, most people would think our parents were arguing or even fighting. They weren’t. It was just their way of teasing each other. If ever there was a couple that loved each other, it was our parents.

Then there was Johnny. I stood there nervously, looking out the front living room window as our parent's car disappeared from view.

As I stood there, I silently asked God to protect me. I promised, if he did, I would go to Saturday morning mass for a month at St. Peter’s.

I saw Johnny's reflection in the window. He was coming towards me. I turned around to face him. Ready for certain death.

“You little rat. I should beat you to a pulp. But I won’t. I remember when they brought you home from the hospital. Mom made me promise that I will always protect my baby brother, care for him, and remember one thing. He will forever be younger than you. I guess tonight made me finally understand that last part. You are just a kid, and kids say stupid things.”

Johnny told me to turn on the television. He went to the kitchen and came back with two cokes and a bag of chips. He sat on the couch next to me. Not another word was said. Just two brothers having fun together.

Johnny has lived up to his promise to mom for sixty-six years, going on sixty-seven. My birthday will be in November.

This story is dedicated to my brother.

values
Like

About the Creator

Richard Frohm

Writing is my passion. My hope is you find enjoyment in my stories and follow me as my journey to become a better writer continues.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.