Families logo

My Boyfriend Helped Me Escape

The Night I Broke The News

By Kim.D.Published 2 years ago 8 min read
1
On The Way To My True Home

Firstly, before you read this story I'd recommend that you read "My Backstory To Now" so that this makes much more sense. It would be easier for you to follow along too as this is basically a part two to "My Backstory To Now". This is the story of the escape that took place after I broke the news that I wasn't living in my abusive home anymore. My household wasn't physically abusive as much as it was mentally and emotionally. My grandmother was the one to get physical at times and apologize when she felt like it. She'd treat us after her mistreatment in hopes that we'd forget. Needless to say that we never forgot the moments our grandmother gave us. As I previously mentioned in my other story, I was hoping to find a way to share pictures of the abusive texts sent to me via my father. have unfortunately not found a way to share the screenshots. I had attempted to make a google photos link, but I'd rather not hand out that kind of information which also gives readers access to my email.

A few things to mention is that we are driving from my workplace in Georgia towards my boyfriend's parent's house in Missouri. I have a box of my belongings in the backseat of my boyfriend's truck (which is actually his father's truck). I also want to quickly note that while I was trying to leave that my sisters were hysterically crying their eyes out. Not because of me leaving as I have come to find out but because it was out of fear of what my grandmother would do to them when they got home. I did check in with my siblings privately through social media and they were just fine.

Turns out they had a little "family investigation" asking each of my siblings about anything suspicious. Of course my youngest sister ran her mouth and it was clearly to be seen as the "princess" and "good girl" of the family. I understand that kids will be kids but sometimes you can clearly tell when a kid is a literal brat. As this was told from my other sister's point of view, I can most definitely believe her. Unfortunately thanks to my grandmother's influence, I believe my youngest sister will be my grandmother's replacement for the family.

So my boyfriend and I had stopped at the nearest Walmart which was literally five minutes away from the motel where he was staying at. I picked out a few items of clothing and hygiene products to get me through a few days. From Walmart we headed towards the motel where we had originally attempted to stay the night that he had pre-paid for, but his mother highly advised him not to stay there but rather move a few hours away from it. After awhile he gave in and we headed out. After three to four hours of driving into the night on the highway we both decided it was best to at least stop at a truck stop to rest for a good bit. After two hours of rest we both awakened to take on another six to seven hours of driving. After a few hours of driving and still having a long way to go, we decided we'd find a hotel or motel to stay at for the night. We were desperate for a decent night's rest.

We parked in hotel's parking lot and called them to see if there was any vacancies to which they had none. It took us an hour to find one that had an open spot, but the downside is that it was extremely expensive for one night. It costed three hundred dollars a night to stay at that place. I don't remember the name of the hotel unfortunately, but it definitely didn't look cheap when you walked in. The place just reeked of wealth and refined taste. Once we checked in we made it to the elevator to reach our room. I have to admit I enjoyed the look and feel of the place. It may have been expensive, but it was worth it even for just one night. My body was aching from being cramped in a truck all night and I'm sure my boyfriend's was too.

We laid our belongings down on the dresser and crawled into the heavenly bed for some well-needed sleep. At about five in the morning I was abruptly woken up by my phone vibrating and my ringtone going off. I remember my father saying that he'd call me and that I had better answer him before we left. I simply expected the call to be at a more reasonable time and not in the middle of the night just to agitate me further. I had answered the call only to be surprised that it was a "missing person" call. I had then confirmed that I wasn't missing, I was safe, and that everything was fine. I had also reminded him that there was a police report on this matter around ten o'clock pm and that it was resolved. He understood and wished me a nice day.

I then called my father back after seeing one missed call. Only after one miss call did he decide I was apparently dead, how nice. When he finally picked up the phone I had angrily reminded him that it was five am and asked him how he expected me to answer at a time like that. My father's response was, "What did you think was gonna happen? Didn't I tell you I'd call a missing person report on you if you didn't answer?" Truth is that my father just told me to answer the call. I just didn't know he'd pick an inhumane and insane time to do so. What else should I have expected from this uncaring crazy person? All he would ever do is just isolate himself in his room and play games like some sort of teenager. My father would leave it to his mother to take care of us as he sat and did nothing. After talking to my father on the phone so agitatedly, I made my way back over to the bed to resume sleeping.

I then found out my boyfriend had also been awakened by my phone and the conversations that had just taken place. After laying down for a bit (and not able to fall asleep), we had decided to hop back onto the road. At about seven thirty am we stopped at Dunkin's Donuts for breakfast and the nearest gas station for his monster drink and five hour energy drink. After hours of traveling we had finally arrived at our destination, his parent's house to wait on them to be done with their jobs. His father works from home and his mother is a pediatric educator (she's now a lead RN). It was then I found out that his parents were taking us all out to dinner, including my boyfriend's brother who would also be living with us at the apartment. It was a lovely dinner and I really felt more at peace and at home with his family than I ever did with mine.

I love my siblings and mother, just not my father, grandmother, or grandfather. Throughout the dinner I had really gotten to know a lot about his family and how kind they were to me. I wasn't treated as a lowly person but as a respected individual who had her own rights. I was already loving my new life and it had barely begun. After the dinner and exchanging contacts we made it to the apartment. At first glance I already knew a few things needed to be swapped around and cleaned up. I did just that which my boyfriend had melted at the sight. He was so amazed that I had gotten so use to the place in such little time already. It was an amazing day and the best sleep I had ever gotten that night. Sleeping is so much better when you're cuddled with your love instead of a long distance relationship. We were doing long distance up until the move which lasted a little over a year.

The next day I had woken up to a call from my father but my grandmother was the one who really did the talking. You see, I had already blocked her from my contacts for her snarky attitude the night we left. I had offered to keep in touch to which she replied, "Oh really? You think so?" I honestly took that as her not wanting anything to do with me. My father and grandmother took turns verbally bashing me as I kept the phone beside my ear. I wanted to hang up so bad but I knew they'd call right back and continue more aggressively. I wanted to keep connection, but at that rate I was already tempted to block my father as well. (I already got my siblings social media's before I left so I could keep in touch with them privately, they were also aware of me leaving in December) As they were taking turns, my boyfriend was holding me and was quietly reminding me that he was there for me in the background. After that day, all was pretty much better than my previous lifestyle but of course the next time I meet his parents is when the text messages ensue, which I can not share due to not knowing how to do so.

values
1

About the Creator

Kim.D.

https://www.facebook.com/KimDuckett02

Be sure to check out my facebook above! You will find all of my posts related or unrelated to vocal! It will also be an update on why you might not see as much stories being posted! I appreciate you all!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Megan Duckett2 years ago

    I was having a full blown panic attack that night man it was scary I felt like I could not breathe scary times😐

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.