Families logo

Mother to Daughter

Always...

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4

As I age, I have been ever so thankful for my children. I love my son very deeply but at this time, my daughter and I have built a bond that we have not had for many years.

Hannah, my child, has grown and has been blessed with her own little man. At this time, we are living in the same house because of society's pandemic. Housework, care for little man, and jobs keep us pretty busy but we always find time for each other now. This was not the case while she was growing.

I watch her and she watches me and we've come to the point where we appreciate each other more and more. I had no idea how much she was watching me because she was a Gothic teen. She was all secretive, silent, and independently defiant. I didn't mind much for her independence made me proud that she saw the world differently than some. She is fierce, a force to her own right and I am amazed how she toggled three jobs to make ends meet. As my life was falling apart about 10 years ago, she was the one who reminded me of my accomplishments. As she wiped away tears of frustration, she spoke words of encouragement and how she was proud of all I have done. Little did she know, she saved my soul from the tyranny of a Narcissi husband. Not even my besties could do that at the time.

Women who are strong tend not to see their own deeds as something to be admired. She has watched me succeed as a teacher. She watched me care for my handicapped sibling for many years. I toggled all childhood events with ease while obtaining my master's degree. She is a witness to my life and can use it to boost her own. I too have raised a strong woman.

One of the best testimony she has given me was how I viewed those with a disability. I showed her the humanity they have and the unconditional love they give. She learned how to love in a whole new way. My grandbaby has NF1 and will have some special needs too as he grows. I watch her with my grandson and I know she will use my example to build a good life for him. I do not fear for his future for she is doing wonderfully for him. Even when times get tough, she knows that I am there for her if she really needs help with his care. My grandson will have all the support I and she can give.

As the song goes by Styx,

Hannah you're with me in spirit wherever I go

To the ends of the earth and all points between high and low

Each night by the stage you appear as you are

The ever intangible child

Ageless and timeless as Dorian Grey

Oh Hannah I know that it's you and you're leading me on

Hannah you're my inspiration my fountain of youth

And as your surrogate leader I'm bound in your searach for the truth

And yes how the truth rushes out

When it's become honestly clear

I see your anxious and curious eyes

But Hannah I need you as much as you think you need me

Come to your window tonight and we'll fly to your dreams

And we'll

Sing for the day sing for the moment

Sing for the time of your life

Come for an hour stay for a moment

Stay for the rest of your life

Hannah don't fail me I need you like never before

Father time's at my back on my heels

Behind every door (and he says)

Son when the youth has but gone from your face

Will she let you grow older with grace?

Or will she give you up for one younger than you?

Oh Hannah please tell me the things that he says are untrue

Hannah I'm honestly hoping you'll always be there

Sing for the day sing for the moment

Sing for the time of your life

Come for an hour stay for a moment

Stay for the rest of your life.

Yes, I picked her name from this song and I have to admit, I am grateful I have. My daughter, my love.

children
4

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.