Families logo

Mindfullness diamond painting

Relaxing with diamond painting is fun and beautiful.

By Tanika StimpsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Mindfullness diamond painting
Photo by Billy Huynh on Unsplash

Being a single mum has been hard work, while doing everything for a child sometimes we just need some time to figure things out about ourselves and to bring our stress levels down and allows me to focus on things other than diabetes, court, house stuff and study.

In my downtime, I like to pull out some diamond painting artwork to make beautiful artwork. One of the artworks I am currently doing is a Disney picture that is 80 x 60 in size. This picture has taken me a few months to get half-finished. It's such a big picture and each little piece is as small as a pinhead, they are colourful and sparkly. Each space on the whole mat is coded by letters or shapes and it’s so sticky to hold down each small piece. It's that sticky you have to do small sections at a time and only peel back the plastic slowly otherwise everything will stick to the picture. Doing this artwork is all about patience, and it calms me down when im stressed out. Once it’s done the picture turns out beautiful and sparkly.

When I first started on these diamond painting artworks. I had done a small Mickey Mouse picture, whilst I was also knitting a scarf that my son asked me to make for him. When I wanted another diamond painting I looked online and went through them all until I found one that I liked and ordered a Disney artwork. The Disney picture I ordered has Mickey, Minnie and all their pals.

the Mickey Mouse art im currently doing.

I have been focused on these diamond painting artworks after a teacher harmed my son in child care, dealing with all the court stuff stressed me out and made me feel like I couldn’t deal with it all.

I chose this artwork because I thought it looked beautiful and because well Disney is my favourite. This type of activity I find so calming, as you can slowly see all the different colours form into a beautiful picture. It takes your mind off things and allows you to sit and relax. I already have my next one to do ready, the picture is of my son and myself the size of this picture is 60 x 80. This image is one I can not wait to do and for me to frame it and hang it somewhere in our home. Just I know some colours may get a bit boring as there is a lot of the same colour. But this is one of my favourite photos to do diamond painting on as it shows a lot of love, shows how much he loves me and trusts me to make sure he won't fall off my shoulders.

The diamond artwork I cant wait to do of my son and myself.

For Christmas last year I had ordered everyone a diamond art to do in their spare time. I ordered my mum a custom made picture of my son in the park sitting down, when my mum saw it she fell in love with it and got stuck into it, she finished the picture in only a couple of days. My mum then ordered more as she started to love participating in diamond art activities. I then ordered a diamond art picture for my sister which was custom made of her pup that she loves. I had then ordered my aunty a custom made picture for her to do, the picture was of her family. My aunty loved it as it included all her children and the man she loves in the picture. I then ordered my Grandma a diamond art of a picture she loves the picture was of a tiger her favourite animal.

By John Schaidler on Unsplash

art
5

About the Creator

Tanika Stimpson

My name is Tanika im a single mum to a beautiful boy. My blogs are about mine and my son’s life. My son and I are currently doing this while fundraising for JDRF by doing the JDRF One Walk.

We will be sharing updates on my son’s service dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.