Families logo

Midnight

By: Dana Bergstrasser

By Dana BergstrasserPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The wind came rushing towards me in a cold hard force, nearly knocking me off my feet. I was alone, completely alone. The grass was shining with the sun, but I did not feel the warmth that the sun always provides. I only felt the cold, damp wind around me. I didn’t know where I was, but it felt wrong to be standing here alone. My eyes were opened but I couldn't see where I was. it was like a sheet was placed on me and I couldn't get it off to see.

“Midnight!” I heard a voice speaking to me, but who was it?

“Midnight! wake up!” it said again.

“MIDNIGHT DAD SAID TO GET UP!”

Suddenly the world came back to view and there my little sister was shaking me awake. Tara is much like me, short, skinny, and just a bit annoying. But unlike her, I love my naps during the day before training.

“What?!”I said shooing her hands off my arms.

“Dad says it’s time for training, and your already ten minutes late for it, so get your ass up and hit the gym with the others!” taken back by her words i looked at her with confusion.

“Dad’s words, not mine” she says grinning at me. I know my sister better than i know anyone else, and she NEVER says any kind of bad word. unless of course she is delivering a message from our pack leader. Which is why I say the word “Dad”.

“Alright fine, just give me five minutes to rebuild my sanity” I said as I throw the covers off of me and head for my bathroom.

“You know, once dad finds out that you have been slacking on your leadership practices he will lose it”. (name here) is not stupid, she can tell i don’t want what our father wants. But I have to please him, other wise I lose what respect he still has for me. I never plan on telling anyone my secret, (name) does not even know, she just knows that I have been acting different than last year.

“Any ways, I am going to the mall with some of the girls, you should come along after you are done with practice. It might give off some of the tension we all feel from you” she said walking out my room and making a huge scene like always. Pulling my attention back to the bathroom mirror i pull my thick brown hair up in a ponytail and put on some of my work out cloths. Training will go its normal way just like it does twice a week. We start out with running then walk up a tall hill to lift weights and then run up and down the hill till we throw up. If you are new to the training it takes 3 to 4 hours to finish, but i have been doing it for two years now and it has no effect on me anymore. I have to put on a show though other wise he will make me do more than the other five.

“RING RING”

Looking down at my phone it reads “bestfriend” smiling a little I pick it up.

“Hello?”

“Midnight! where the hell are you?! I had to tell your dad that you have been stuck to the toilet for ten minutes!” says Paul my best friend.

“I’m coming alright, I just slept in too long that's all, I am walking out the front door right now I’ll see you in five minutes okay?” I hear a sigh come through the other end of the phone and a click goodbye. It was not like I was never late, I guess my dad is being ass today and pushing to get me to come early.

Making my way out of my room I take a my house, its long and narrow halls are a huge part of where I grew up I do not think I have seen any other house before. The walls have been this ugly green color for a long time, and the furniture has been here since my mother has.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Dana Bergstrasser

writing has always been a passion of mine ❤️ Follow along my journey to being a Author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.