Families logo

Memories Of A Troubled Child

Before we really unpack the trauma.

By Neecee BPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

<div>A good memory from my childhood all lead to my grandparents. Because my parents where a train wreck and would be a made for TV show, except it would be too graphic. I can remember so many small events with them that I am certain they are a big reason that I did not end up another child from a bad home that ended up on the streets.</div>

<div>I am not sure how old I was I'm going to guess between 6 and 8. It was a long time ago before power wheels where common. And I always wanted to do everything my grandfather did. He was my hero. And one of his many skills that I was in awe of was his ability to build things.</div>

<div>So I think I wanted to play in the real car and push buttons and in all ways being a nuisance. I was by the way very spoiled by my grandparents. So my grandfather's solution to this particular problem was to build me my own car. And he spared no effort in his creation. It was designed after a model T car and was completely made of wood except the engine. The engine was not in any way safe for children's use. This thing had pick up. I was in love with his creation and would drive all over the neighborhood. Of course there where some exciting incidents like when I some how got the excelerator stuck on go, and it was go fast. Of course I was on my grandparents Street which was next to a very busy main road. I remember my grandfather running after me shouting instructions on how to kill the engine by pulling a lever that was located right behind me. Spoiler alert I didn't end up in the main Street. I managed to switch the engine off just in time. I was however only able to ride it in open areas my grandfather would have to haul this large toy to. I remember being devasted when my grandfather decided I was too old for. He dismantled it and then took the engine and built me a moped. I loved the moped and had many adventures on it also but it was never like my car. My grandfather made me many things throughout my childhood but I'll save those for a future post.</div>

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Neecee B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.