Families logo

Meaningful Inexpensive Mother's Day Gifts

Getting Your Mother Meaningful Gifts Without Spending a Lot of Money

By Samantha SterlingPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Mother's Day is closing in and you're trying to figure out what you want to do for your Mom, but you don't necessarily have massive amounts of funds to buy her something extravagant. Well, you came to the right place! I'm going to give you a couple of ideas for gifts that you could do for your Mother that will mean a lot to her but also save you some money. Now keep in mind this isn't JUST for Mother's Day; these ideas could also be for Father's Day, birthdays, Christmas, or practically any occasion.

Going to Hobby Lobby

Personally, in my opinion, Hobby Lobby is the perfect place to by inexpensive gifts for Mom. They sell all kinds of crafts but they also sell adorable home decor for reasonable prices. Everytime that I go there they always have sales where the prices are anywhere from 30 percent, 50 percent, or even 75 percent at times get everything at a reasonable price along with online coupons.

If you don't want to buy things for your Mom's house you can buy things to make her something. Like I said, they have ALL kinds of crafts for very cheap whether it's making her a shirt, a model, or making stain glass for her windows. Maybe if you're a parent take your little ones along with you and let them pick out something to make for their Mom and their Grandma, the kits for jewelry or stepping stones are at least $30 or less.

Helping Your Mom

Another amazing gift you can give your Mom is the gift of relaxation. Clean your room, do the laundry, wash the dishes, feed the animals, take out the trash and even make her dinner, ESPECIALLY if your Mom is a working Mom, older or even both. Don't let your Mom come home to a messy household! Give her a stress-free day or weekend of chore free stress, maybe even give her a foot rub... Or make your Dad do it, whatever! Shoot, maybe even do this for your Grandma!

Recreating a Memory

I think I probably saved the best idea for last for a meaningful gift for your Mom: recreating a gift you have already made for your Mom when you were younger. The recreating trend is always a favorite thing to do even more so in this sense. I had already bought my Mom a gift for Mother's Day (from Hobby Lobby), but I felt like that ONE gift wasn't enough for her and I wanted to do something else also. So a couple days ago I was sitting on the couch in my livelihood thinking about the possible ideas I could possibly do as another gift because I didn't have any more funds to simply buy her another one. While sitting, I looked to the wall in front of me and on that wall was hanging a picture that I had painted in watercolor when I was 5 (17 years ago) and then it hit me. Why don't I recreate this painting I did into the current art style I do now but in the same colors? It's such an amazing idea it couldn't go wrong especially if you're artsy like myself.

The painting isn't quite done but I think you get the idea. I like this idea because it's more thoughtful and very sweet to relive the memory and the story behind the original thing that you made for your mom but to add to it by showing your growth by recreating it. Not just re-doing it, but using the original colors making it that sweeter... Even if your 5-year-old self chose to paint green eyebrows on our portrait. Mind you, I don't really look like this but 5-year-old me was 5-year-old me. Also, you don't have to be an amazing artist to do this and you don't even have to recreate a painting; it could be a picture or a clay sculpture etc. As long as it comes from the heart, your Mom will love it.

Conclusion

These ideas again could by used for any occasion not just Mother's Day and can be done for anybody. These are just a few last minute and inexpensive meaningful gifts, but for Mother's Day definitely consider doing these ideas if not all of them. It'll be a very good day for your Mom. Happy Mother's Day!!!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.